We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular for Biz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Folsom, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A regular for Biz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have stayed many nights at this motel. Parking is the most reasonable and the rooms are great. Service is just as remarkable. China Town begins there and security guards around the area make it a safe prospect as far as cities are concerned. Access to local transit is plentiful and the walk around the newly refurbished building is outstanding. Located near Lake exercise trails adds to the experience. Priced very well for the area.

The management is outstanding, as well! I highly recommend staying as a vacationer and for long term business, as well.

Room Tip: All were good with views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hi there,

Thank you for your business and for staying with us so frequently. I am glad we are able to provide consistent and exemplary service for all of your stays with us. Our security is always around to keep our guests feeling safe and secure while they stay with us. I am glad you appreciate all the hard work we put in to remodeling our property. The hotel is looking the best it has ever looked and I think it perfectly reflects the wonderful hospitality experience offered inside.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    89
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
39
27
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night and I don't think I could stay here for longer. The only reason I stayed here was because the hotels in San Francisco were too expensive. We checked in late at night, not too difficult to find but it is in Chinatown. There were street parking but available for only 2 hours and the hotel had parking but for $20 a night. We chose to park it in a different parking lot about a block away for $10 and the guy there was nice enough to let us extend parking without charging us extra. If you want to get by with not paying extra, just be nice and talk to them nicely and you save a few $.

The hotel is a non-smoking hotel but the room that I had this awful smell coming from it so I went downstairs and they moved me to a different room which was nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable but the only problem is the noise from the street can be heard in your room. And in the morning the street vendors, and shops keepers come early and start setting up for the day so the noise can be a problem if you want to sleep in.

The free breakfast was a plus, nothing fancy but beats hunting around for a place to eat. It's cheaper than staying in the city and definitely works if you're looking for a hotel at the last minute.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience in your first room, but I am glad our staff was able to accommodate you in an even nicer room. Our breakfast service is convenient for our business and leisure travelers who do not want to go too far from the hotel to have a good meal. For being in a major metropolitan city, our property is able to provide some of the cheapest valet parking in the area along with security to ensure your car and belongings are safe.

Thank you writing us,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia, spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed two nights here . Parking is $16. There is a free bus that goes down to the water area, Jack London Square, which we took advantage of. There was a farmer's market across from the hotel the next day. We throughly enjoyed our stay. There was a lobby computer and very large comfortable living room type area with a TV where larger groups could congregate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the amenities our area has to offer. The B, our free local transportation for Downtown Oakland, is so convenient for our guests who do not want to worry about parking or paying for a taxi to get to Jack London Square. The farmer’s market is located across the street from us on Washington and Ninth Street and occurs every Friday afternoon. There are local farmers, vendors and merchants selling everything from jewelry to fresh vegetables and there are some delicious lunch choices as well.

Hope to see you again soon,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is situated centrally, right next to China Town. Cleanliness and housekeeping were excellent. Room was very comfortable. Service desk was very helpful. Valet parking, though pricey, is worth it. We stayed for 4 nights and we enjoyed the comforts every bit. We were surprised to book this hotel for a reasonable price. The restaurant is convenient, but not special. On Fridays, there is Farmers market right next door and this was an interesting experience. Definitely plan to stay again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for mentioning our housekeeping staff and their commendable service. They are the un-sung heroes of our hotel and play a huge part in making our property great. We look forward to you staying with us again and I hope we can meet, or surpass your service standards once again.

Till next time,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We were in town for the SFO Marathon and could not find a reasonably priced hotel near SFO!!! We were pleasantly surprised to find this recently updated hotel and at such a great rate! It is only 15 minutes to Emeryville and 20-25 minutes from SFO. We'll definitely stay there during our next trip.

Room Tip: Keep in mind - valet parking is mandatory and at a rate of $20/day - they are very quick and friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Finding a reasonably priced hotel in San Francisco can be difficult, but I’m glad you found our property and were able to take advantage of our convenient location and our low rates. I hope your stay with us left you well rested and re-energized for the marathon.

Hope to see you next year again for the next marathon,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is in the center of downtown and just a block from Chinatown. Clean, recently renovated and quiet. The valet parking works really well and is reasonable. Front desk staff were knowledgeable about the area and we used thier recomendations for places to eat on two occasions. It was easy to get on the freeways to explore the entire area and only took 10 minutes to get to Berkely. On Friday morning we woke up and discovered that a very nice farmers market had set up accross the street from the hotel and offered all sorts of food and produce. Lots of fun. Hotel is within walking distance of a nice park area and just a block from the convention center and its sister property the Mariott. Definately would stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the streeet or the interior courtyard parking area. We prefer the street ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review of our property. Our staff is very knowledgeable about the area and know some of the best places to visit in order to get the best experience out of Oakland. Like you mentioned, Lake Merritt is just a few blocks away and is a great place to get some exercise and enjoy the scenery.

Thanks from all of us at the Courtyard,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown during a six day business trip in July 2011. After being in trainings for 8 hours every day, I found the hotel room to be comfortable, well decorated and quiet - a perfect place to catch up on email, chat with family back home and unwind. I had a room on the main roadway and could not hear the traffic outside. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous and the beds were very comfortable. Also, the hotel was located right in the heart of downtown Oakland, surrounded by a lot of good restaurant options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hello there,

Our goal for our business travelers, like yourself, is to ensure that you have a comfortable “home away from home” while away on business. We know how important it is to your work performance to have a good and quiet night’s rest and some relaxation before beginning another work day.

Thank you for allowing us to host you during your trip.
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.