We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good facilities....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good facilities....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice business hotel with good rooms and comfortable beds and pillows, cleanliness very good.
Breakfast served is OK, not a big variety of options though, but basic and sufficient quantity.
The entrance is not particularly good, as you need to drive down from the back side of the hotel to come to the portico and reception. Not the best of entrance.
Hotel staff is courteous, friendly and professional. Some good places to eat around at walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
ManeeshChandra

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. I see that you wanted addtional items for breakfast please let me know whatever suggestions you may have as we are always trying to improve our product. Please let me know if I can make reservations for you next time your in our area.

Bill Dalleske
General Manager
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland-Airport
350 Hegenburger Road
Oakland CA, 94621
T - 510-568-7600
F - 510-568-7695
Email - Billdalleske@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    65
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
43
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

New, nice and clean with great beds/pillows, walking distance for food. Nice outdoor pool and gym.Has a good food/snack place inside hotel. Don't like the gate entrance from street & exit out.Total hassle. Guess it keeps you safe in a bad part of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent a Tuesday and Thursday night here recently due to proximity to Oakland airport. This and all other hotels in the area are very close to the terminal. Hotel staff at the Courtyard is top-notch accommodating and friendly. The Bistro staff is the best I have seen at any Courtyard by far. On the first night there were no issues. On the second stay I was in a room at the far end of the property and there was a dog barking all-night long, apparently from an adjacent property. This was very disruptive. Do not take a room at this part of the hotel. It is 50/50 on if I would stay here again. Rooms are typical Courtyard sized. TV is OK with respectable selection of channels. Food options in area are very limited. Hotel did pick up at rental car drop off which is courteous and runs shuttles often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good service. Clean hotel ,close to airport. Will definitely recommend hotel. The front desk gentleman was very helpful . Got a early morning 4 am shuttle from hotel.
Got a good distressed passenger rate from front desk as well as my flight was cancelled. The airline did not get us reduced rates as it was the lack of air traffic controller and not the airline mistake.The folks at Marriott helped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed 1 night on business. Very clean. Nice decor in lobby and bistro. Room was spacious, although the set up is different with the bed facing the windows. Bathroom amenities were skimpy. Just the basics. Very clean. Hallways are kinda noisy though. Everytime someone was going by sounded like it was in my room. $8 for parking I believe. I used the shuttle to and from the airport. The neighboorhood is sketchy but the hotel is gated. Quick to airport too. Definitely would stay here again. Service was wonderful. Everyone was smiling and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Courtyard was a pleasant surprise, given its proximity to Oakland Airport. It was pleasant and well maintained. Everything was in perfect working order. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

The beds were a bit soft, but that seems to be what people want these days (contrary to consistent medical opinion about lack of back support). Rooms were comfortable.

The downside was the bistro approach to dining. Pretty limited, and quickly prepared. Without being mean, you can get a better breakfast at a fast-food location. And, contrary to prevailing mythology, not all people like Starbucks, which they sell. So, between the Marriott Barrista brand of coffee, and Starbucks, the coffee options are unpleasant to me.

Leaving aside the dining and coffee, it was a perfectly fine and pleasant hotel in a great location. I will stay there again - and bring my own coffee!

Room Tip: Away from Hegenberger Road is your best and quietest location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Only one person manning the desk and hotel requests when I arrived. I had used the "Extra Pillows" request when I had reserved a room online, but none were provided in the room (had the same issue with the Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa, HI so it seems that Marriott in general doesn't pay attention to the online booking requests).
I called down to reception asking for the pillows (being 7 months pregnant, extra pillows are a necessity). One hour later (i.e. 11:30PM) still no sign of the pillows. My husband called reception again and had to remind the reception person as they had forgotten. 30mins later, still no sign. FInally my husband had to walk down to reception and go with the receptionist to get the pillows in person and bring them back to the room - great service, huh???
Don't get the "Starbucks" coffee at the little breakfast bar there - the person that makes them is not Starbucks trained - the coffee was illegally hot and I scalded my mouth, and the coffee tasted burnt (presumably because it had been heated too hot).
Trying to get a shuttle back to the airport was a bit interesting - the receptionist told me we couldn't get an earlier shuttle as she was the driver and had to drop another guest to the car rental, call a cab for another guest, and basically....long story short - this hotel only ever seems to have one person working at a time and therefore service is non-existant. If you have plenty of time to spare to hang around waiting for the staff here, go ahead and stay, but you won't find me staying here again. The Holiday Inn looks like a better bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. After reading your feedback, I am disappointed that your time with us was not satisfactory. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced.

Our priority is to take care of our guests and provide them with exceptional service it appears that in your case we fell dreadfully short of providing the service that we are proud of.

Once more, I am very sorry for the experience you had at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.