We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good convenient hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good convenient hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good service. Clean hotel ,close to airport. Will definitely recommend hotel. The front desk gentleman was very helpful . Got a early morning 4 am shuttle from hotel.
Got a good distressed passenger rate from front desk as well as my flight was cancelled. The airline did not get us reduced rates as it was the lack of air traffic controller and not the airline mistake.The folks at Marriott helped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    62
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
27
43
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed 1 night on business. Very clean. Nice decor in lobby and bistro. Room was spacious, although the set up is different with the bed facing the windows. Bathroom amenities were skimpy. Just the basics. Very clean. Hallways are kinda noisy though. Everytime someone was going by sounded like it was in my room. $8 for parking I believe. I used the shuttle to and from the airport. The neighboorhood is sketchy but the hotel is gated. Quick to airport too. Definitely would stay here again. Service was wonderful. Everyone was smiling and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Courtyard was a pleasant surprise, given its proximity to Oakland Airport. It was pleasant and well maintained. Everything was in perfect working order. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

The beds were a bit soft, but that seems to be what people want these days (contrary to consistent medical opinion about lack of back support). Rooms were comfortable.

The downside was the bistro approach to dining. Pretty limited, and quickly prepared. Without being mean, you can get a better breakfast at a fast-food location. And, contrary to prevailing mythology, not all people like Starbucks, which they sell. So, between the Marriott Barrista brand of coffee, and Starbucks, the coffee options are unpleasant to me.

Leaving aside the dining and coffee, it was a perfectly fine and pleasant hotel in a great location. I will stay there again - and bring my own coffee!

Room Tip: Away from Hegenberger Road is your best and quietest location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Only one person manning the desk and hotel requests when I arrived. I had used the "Extra Pillows" request when I had reserved a room online, but none were provided in the room (had the same issue with the Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa, HI so it seems that Marriott in general doesn't pay attention to the online booking requests).
I called down to reception asking for the pillows (being 7 months pregnant, extra pillows are a necessity). One hour later (i.e. 11:30PM) still no sign of the pillows. My husband called reception again and had to remind the reception person as they had forgotten. 30mins later, still no sign. FInally my husband had to walk down to reception and go with the receptionist to get the pillows in person and bring them back to the room - great service, huh???
Don't get the "Starbucks" coffee at the little breakfast bar there - the person that makes them is not Starbucks trained - the coffee was illegally hot and I scalded my mouth, and the coffee tasted burnt (presumably because it had been heated too hot).
Trying to get a shuttle back to the airport was a bit interesting - the receptionist told me we couldn't get an earlier shuttle as she was the driver and had to drop another guest to the car rental, call a cab for another guest, and basically....long story short - this hotel only ever seems to have one person working at a time and therefore service is non-existant. If you have plenty of time to spare to hang around waiting for the staff here, go ahead and stay, but you won't find me staying here again. The Holiday Inn looks like a better bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. After reading your feedback, I am disappointed that your time with us was not satisfactory. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced.

Our priority is to take care of our guests and provide them with exceptional service it appears that in your case we fell dreadfully short of providing the service that we are proud of.

Once more, I am very sorry for the experience you had at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed with my husband at this hotel for a couple of days for a wedding, and I just had to praise the staffs that were working the day that we stayed here. The front desk was very friendly. I really wanted to mention Hong. We weren’t happy with our first room, but she switched our room right away and everything was fine. I am not from the area, but she was so sweet from the minute we walked in until we left. We are not locals so we were a little lost on where to eat or hang out and she gave us a few places to go to. We took her advice and always enjoyed ourselves. Thank you Hong for working at the Marriott! If anyone plans to stay here ask for Hong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm pleased that you had a great time and that Hong took such great care of you during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport!

Our goal is to always exceed expectations, it is always wonderful and motivating to hear great feedback about our team members.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the bay area.
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Recently I made several room reservations for a family function in the area. The online reservation process was easy and accurate! During our stay we needed directions to some nearby loacatons and the staff was very helpful with their advice. After our stay I had some questions about the billing which were quickly answered by the General Manger to my satisfaction. In the past when I've needed a hotel in this area I have always chosen this hotel and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm so glad that you had a great time and that I was able to assist you with your billing questions. It’s always wonderful to hear that from our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My best friend flew in from Hawaii to spend the weekend to shop, shop, and shop. I convinced her that she should fly out of Oakland and so I booked us a hotel stay the night before her flight back so that she wouldn't have to wake up that early. I was a little apprehensive to discover the exact location of the hotel, but it was just a hop, skip, and a jump away from the airport and once inside, we felt safe. Whew! We had a late check in and the workers were so courteous, informative, and friendly. It was super easy to book her an airport shuttle for the following morning and there was no fee. The rooms were of a decent size and the queen sized beds were really comfy. We headed back down to the lobby and enjoyed wine and our own private booth with a tv! The "Bistro" stayed open until 10:30pm and the prices seemed appropriate. The next morning, the shuttle arrived right on time and we were able to purchase Starbucks products for breakfast. I would absolutely stay here again if needed. Thank you, Marriott for providing yet another outstanding stay. From: A 2 Marriott Timeshare owner. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff was so happy when I shared this with them, thank you for acknowledging our friendly and helpful associates.

Here at the Oakland Airport Courtyard we strive to exceed all expectations. I do hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;