We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Convenient for Air Travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Convenient for Air Travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel is situated near Oakland International Airport and offers free courtesy shuttle every half hour to airport. If you park and fly, they also give you a business card with a number to call when you are ready to be retrieved at the airport, then promptly come and pick you up. Room was typical of the Marriott brand hotels with comfortable bed. Only drawbacks were parking lot lighting was very dim, so being a single female traveling alone, I felt somewhat uncomfortable when I had to go to the car to retrieve luggage at night, especially given my room was on the opposite side of the hotel as the main lobby. I did, however, see a security guard walking the property later in the evening. Also, for some reason, there was only a solo bar of facial soap in the room - no shampoo or other toiletry items were provided.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
As the hotel General Manager, I value feedbacks from our guests who take the time to write to us and allow us to improve on our services and product.

In early 2013, we upgraded our parking lot lights converting each of them to an energy efficient and high intensity LED lighting system, I am happy to report that this new lighting has greatly improved the visibility in our hotel parking lot. No longer are any areas in our parking lot lacking full lighting coverage.

Once again thank you for your input and feedback.

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    68
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
29
45
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Close to the airport. Typical of the brand. This is a business, flight crew hotel. Some rooms smaller than others. Clean well run hotel. Starbucks in the lobby. Construction of the BART to the airport going on ( no noise, just lane closures ). The the door to the parking lot, at the end of the corridor, slammed each time people used it. At 3AM a problem. No ice maker on the first floor.

Room Tip: Don't take a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate our guests taking the time to write about their stay with us at the Oakland Airport Courtyard.

I appreciate your compliment of "being a clean and well run hotel" we strive to exceed expectations. Thank you for reporting that the exit door slammed, we took immediate action after your posting and corrected the issue.

Thank you again, and we look forward your your next stay with us.
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

As good as Courtyards are usually are and intended to be; clean, prompt and no problems. HOWEVER, a search in the maps app on an Android showed this hotel as the one in downtown Oakland, which led to 2 20-minute unnecessary drives. The dront desk rep at the marriot downtown helped me, and was sincerely helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for scoring our hotel with 5 stars!

When you posted in September we immediately started working with our e commerce manager to fix Google Maps, thank you for reporting the issue and bringing it to our attention.

Best regards
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very nice hotel convenient to Oakland airport. Typical higher Courtyard standards but Mina at the front desk made it special. She was smiling, freindly and very accomodating. That's a welcome surprised after a long day. She also recommended Francesca's italian restauruant down the block which turned out to be fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for Minah!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your compliment about our staff and hotel quality, we always appreciate feedback such as yours, it is a moral booster for the team!

Friendly and accomodating staff are the qualities that our team strive for.

Francescas is a special landmark in our area with a long history of providing exceptional food.

Thank you for your compliments!
Guy Fremlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here the night before an early morning flight. The lobby and public areas are well maintained but I was disappointed in our room. The furniture was well worn and the wallpaper peeling. The towels are paper thin and not absorbent. However, the bed was comfy and the shower good. Walls are thin as we could hear our neighbors who didn't seem to be overly loud. Would I stay here again? Not sure. I think I would check out/cost compare with the Holiday Inn down the street first.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The location was convenient but the area was a bit questionable (especially in the evenings). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, I would stay at this location again. There were several good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at Courtyard and took advantage of their Stay and Fly Package...stay a night and get a week's parking on site...on a trip from Oakland to Dallas. While package is a little more expensive than regular room it beats airport parking by a fair piece. New lobby is very nice. Staff was very efficient, courteous, knowledgeable, and personable. Price for package was quite reasonable. Food prices at the Bistro were kind of high...the price of convenience, I guess. Our room was spotless and furnishings and bedding/linens quite nice. I wish we would have had time to enjoy the gazebo, pool, and exercise room, all of which are very nice. Grounds are nicely maintained.

Room Tip: Outside rooms on south side of facility are quietest. Pick high floor and away from elevators or ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.