We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Fly package.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Rates
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Oakland
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Fly package.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at Courtyard and took advantage of their Stay and Fly Package...stay a night and get a week's parking on site...on a trip from Oakland to Dallas. While package is a little more expensive than regular room it beats airport parking by a fair piece. New lobby is very nice. Staff was very efficient, courteous, knowledgeable, and personable. Price for package was quite reasonable. Food prices at the Bistro were kind of high...the price of convenience, I guess. Our room was spotless and furnishings and bedding/linens quite nice. I wish we would have had time to enjoy the gazebo, pool, and exercise room, all of which are very nice. Grounds are nicely maintained.

Room Tip: Outside rooms on south side of facility are quietest. Pick high floor and away from elevators or ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    62
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
28
43
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed at the hotel after arriving late at OAK. Typical Courtyard setup, and the lobby area is nice and spacious. The room was a little dated, stained carpet in the halls and room. The bathroom was very tiny in the sink area. Overall the room was fine, just nothing spectacular. I did enjoy the gym which was very nice and larger than most Courtyard gyms. Complete with towel service, and headphones which was nice. Courtyard cafe was nice as well for a coffee and breakfast. Nice to have free parking and very close to OAK. Very few restaurants in the area and lots of construction on the main road in front of the hotel. Just something to consider if needing to travel around the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms are clean and large, the building is modern and the pool and gym were nice. However, the staff and service are what really set this hotel apart. Every staff member was very polite and helpful. The free shuttle service to BART Station and the Oakland airport was great too. In fact, on Monday morning when I was to leave, I was worried that I would miss my flight out of SFO because the shuttle had to stop at Oakland airport before going the BART station. I informed the desk and the staff arranged for a second shuttle to take me to BART. I made my flight (barely) and I was incredibly grateful for their help. This experience summarizes how wonderful my stay was. I would highly recommend for any travelers who stay in Oakland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Amazumda,
On behalf of the Oakland Airport team, I would like to thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that our product and services met and/or exceeded your expectation during your visit in Oakland. I have to agree that we have a wonderful and dedicated team that loves to provide exceptional service everytime. The hotel has added an extra shuttle to meet the needs of our valued guests during busy times. Our managers take turns and are on standby to help out with the shuttle during busy hours. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had no problem with the hotel but the return shuttle service back from a concert this past weekend at the Arena was too slow and too infrequent AND taxi cabs will not help you as it isn't far enough for them to make enough $$$.
The hotel was not close enough to walk back to either especially as it was LATE and it is OAKLAND and you are wiped after a great concert !
Free breakfast would have been nice as the Carrows across the street had abysmal service. Walk a bit farther down and go to Denny's.

Room Tip: If and when the Bart route gets done, avoid the rooms on the road as I fear it will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear ChiantiCR:
Thank you so much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. The hotel shuttle faces some challenges due to Air Bart construction that is going on along the Hegenberger Road which affects our ability to get around during events such as concerts, Baseball games and Football games. The hotel has a great place to have breakfast and dinner at a reasonable price, which is called The Bistro. We have great selctions of healthy items and quick grab and go items along with our own Starbucks station that will make your favorite Starbucks drinks. Please try our Bistro next time and let me know how your experience was. Once again, thank you for your response and enjoy the rest of the summer.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I used Marriott Rewards points for this stay, so technically we stayed for free. Even so, this wasn't a 5-star stay. We checked in around 11pm on a Friday night, and checked out at about 8am the next morning. Check-in was fine, although the front desk clerk didn't have much personality. The lobby looked nice enough. Our room was on the second floor facing the street. If you have any issue with noise, definitely request a room on a quieter side of the building. Luckily, we aren't bothered by noise, but the car/truck/motorcycle noise was VERY loud. It's also lucky that the temperature in the room was ok, since the air conditioning vent had Fruit Loops in it. Obviously, the housekeepers don't clean it very often. There is no way to pull the curtains completely closed and block out daylight in the room, since the curtains cannot pass over the air vent. The bed and bathroom were clean, and the shower had good temperature and pressure. There are typical bathroom amenities, which is always nice. I also appreciated the amount of available outlets, especially those that were in the bedside lamps. I really wish Courtyards had free breakfast, though. I rarely stay at the Marriott hotels that don't have free breakfast because I can stay someplace cheaper and nicer that has that amenity. In the end, this was an ok place to stay for one night close to the airport, but I'm glad we didn't pay for it.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, request a room away from any major streets. The windows do nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We value our guests' comments and feedback and use them as a tool to improve our service and product. Our housekeeping team had a meeting this morning at 10 a.m. and we brought your comments to their attention about the A/C units. This will be part of their focus of the week project to ensure all of them have been inspected. Courtyard hotels do not offer complimentary breakfast unless it is part of a package, but our Residence Inn, TownePlace Suites by Marriott, Springhill Suites and some of our Fairfield Inn Suites do offer complimentary breakfast as part of your stay. Once again thank you and enjoy your summer.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was in Oakland for a business trip in June of 2012. I arrived in Tuesday June 19th and left a week later. When I landed at the Oakland Airport, I used the courtesy phone to call for the free shuttle from the airport. I was given great instructions on where to be picked up and the van came quickly.

The ride to the hotel was short. The driver was friendly and told me about the area and nearby restaurants. I noticed road construction taking place right in front of the hotel, so when I checked in I asked for a room away from the street. I wasn't disappointed. The room was clean and faced the pool. I got a room on the top floor of the hotel, which I believe has 4 floors. There were plenty of towels and I was pleased. It's not fancy, but its a nice room.

The hotel lobby is nice. I never ate meals there, but there is a happy hour. All of the common areas have modern furniture and televisions. Everything is set up really nice with a courtesy business area that was helpful.

There are two things that keep me from rating this hotel "excellent." First, I went to the public restroom that is available just off the hotel lobby. It was filthy! The automatic toilets don't flush properly and all three toilets were full and two were overflowing. I was glad my guest didn't have to use those restrooms and I ended up going to my room. I almost considered it a "bad day" because this first incident took place on a busy Saturday. But unfortunately, I found the restroom in the same condition on Monday afternoon. This is clearly a problem and I don't understand why the toilet issue it's not being addressed by management.

The second issue is small. The marketplace that is offered for hotel guest was poorly stocked. It seems to only be restocked once a week. When I arrived on Tuesday it was full, but as the week went on and I needed small items it became virtually empty.

Overall our stay was nice and despite the two issues, I'd stay here again. I would also recommend it to friends.

-Dee
Houston, TX

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sleep625,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very happy that your shuttle experience and overall experience were postive. I read the rest of your comments and found out the issue with our public restroom. This issue has already been passed on to our team leader and parts have been orderd to fix the the problem. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and we look to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel and room were typical of a hotel near an airport which was required due to a early morning departure. The room appeared clean until I went to plug in my phone charger behind a night stand and saw the dust caked on the wall outlet which led me to think about what else lurks in the room due to less than thorough cleaning. Carpets, under the bed, mattress and furniture come to mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakub Y, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear cooldude22:
I like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. As a General Manager, I value the feedbacks from our wonderful guests who take the time to write to us and allow us to improve on our services and products. The hotel management team, including myself, inspect rooms on weekly basis to ensure that all of our rooms are in great condition from a product point of view and cleanliness point of view. In addition to this, we have a General Cleaning and Preventative Maintenance Program(GCPM) that every room goes thru on quarterly basis. Our management team has also taken your comment and made it part of this week's cleaning tips to ensure that we go thru the entire room and check for cleanliness. Once again thank you for your input and feedback.

Best Regards,

Yakub Yakubi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport

Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;