We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feeling about the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling about the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We came here by car, so it was not a problem to access to the hotel and San Francisco downtown. But the location is very odd, feels like in the middle of nowhere (or highway). You can easily go to San Francisco via Bay Bridge in 15-20 minutes. The room was not too bad but it was not superb. However, the main disadvantage was the proximity of the hotel to the highway and train tracks, which are very noisy. Therefore we asked for a room from the opposite side of the highway. It was at least less noisy. All in all, we selected this hotel because here the parking is free and we did not want to pay $35-$50 nightly parking fee in San Francisco hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the other side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This must be what it is like to live in a US Embassy. Inside the walled compound it is very well kept with roses, tile on the walkways and a nice clean fairly recently updated standard hotel room. Outside is where Oakland has a lot of its razor wire and graffiti. We walked a mile or mile and a half down Coliseum way to O.co Coliseum to see an A's game. There is a lot of just "stuff" stored behind chain link fences with razor wire at the top. And of lot of it is kind of junky and just thrown in there and again, lots and lots of graffiti. I wasn't scared, but I was glad it was a day game. The hotel is fine and if I'd only driven in not had such a good walking view of the area my impression would be better. It is right off the interstate and not that far away from the Bay Bridge into San Francisco. Decent price. Decent room. But I've never seen a hotel in such an odd area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were on our 40th anniversary trip where we originally met in San Francisco. Not wanting to pay the inflated SF prices we decided to stay here based on reviews. Our room was upstairs away from the freeway so the room was very quiet. We requested this based on previous reviews. The floor was creaky so people downstairs probably heard it. The room was large, nicely furnished, very nice sink area with granite counter, looked to be newly renovated. Bathroom and room were very clean. Breakfast was ok with instant oatmeal, white bread toast, coffee, juice, etc. For the reasonable price we paid, we were very happy with our stay there. It is in an industrial area but very close to the freeway so was convenient to get anywhere. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, away from freeway. Room 202 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Basic motel in a little bit noisy area next to freeway. We had booked our rooms couple hour advance via mobile app, and everything went fine at check in.

Our room was located in a building next to freeway and on firts floor, and you could hear everything from upstairs. Sometimes it felt like someone was going to fall through the ceiling. I would recommend a room in second floor. Didnt get any hot water from the shower at evening.

Complimentary breakfast was basic, cereals, white bread and oatmeal.

We stayed here overnight sleep in June and travelled as two couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The pros: it is close to freeway and to Oakland Coliseum for games. The cons: we prepaid a reservation and was told it was a hold even though we were told it was unrefundable. The carpet is greyed and loose, the shower curtain has mildew on it and the bathroom fan is rediculously loud. The furnishings have ding, rips and tears.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cheap location, fine for a night or Two if you are on a tight budget. Area nothing special, gas station about 6 min walk away but wouldn`t walk there after dark.

My room was located in block near reception away from freeway so not really noisey but block by freeway probably not too good to sleep. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I would really struggle to recommend this hotel, preferring to spend a bit more for a cleaner room. The location is not good, its in an odd area and actually a little hard to find. The room itself was not in good shape. Normally I would enjoy the in-room coffee service, however the coffee pot was filthy. The bedding is worn, the carpet is terribly stained, and the towels need to be replaced. I peaked in on breakfast, however judging from the overall cleanliness of the place, wouldnt risk eating there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#10 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#22 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Imperial Inn
Imperial Inn
#19 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Address: 4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.