We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in an odd industrial area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice room in an odd industrial area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This must be what it is like to live in a US Embassy. Inside the walled compound it is very well kept with roses, tile on the walkways and a nice clean fairly recently updated standard hotel room. Outside is where Oakland has a lot of its razor wire and graffiti. We walked a mile or mile and a half down Coliseum way to O.co Coliseum to see an A's game. There is a lot of just "stuff" stored behind chain link fences with razor wire at the top. And of lot of it is kind of junky and just thrown in there and again, lots and lots of graffiti. I wasn't scared, but I was glad it was a day game. The hotel is fine and if I'd only driven in not had such a good walking view of the area my impression would be better. It is right off the interstate and not that far away from the Bay Bridge into San Francisco. Decent price. Decent room. But I've never seen a hotel in such an odd area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were on our 40th anniversary trip where we originally met in San Francisco. Not wanting to pay the inflated SF prices we decided to stay here based on reviews. Our room was upstairs away from the freeway so the room was very quiet. We requested this based on previous reviews. The floor was creaky so people downstairs probably heard it. The room was large, nicely furnished, very nice sink area with granite counter, looked to be newly renovated. Bathroom and room were very clean. Breakfast was ok with instant oatmeal, white bread toast, coffee, juice, etc. For the reasonable price we paid, we were very happy with our stay there. It is in an industrial area but very close to the freeway so was convenient to get anywhere. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, away from freeway. Room 202 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Basic motel in a little bit noisy area next to freeway. We had booked our rooms couple hour advance via mobile app, and everything went fine at check in.

Our room was located in a building next to freeway and on firts floor, and you could hear everything from upstairs. Sometimes it felt like someone was going to fall through the ceiling. I would recommend a room in second floor. Didnt get any hot water from the shower at evening.

Complimentary breakfast was basic, cereals, white bread and oatmeal.

We stayed here overnight sleep in June and travelled as two couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PikloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The pros: it is close to freeway and to Oakland Coliseum for games. The cons: we prepaid a reservation and was told it was a hold even though we were told it was unrefundable. The carpet is greyed and loose, the shower curtain has mildew on it and the bathroom fan is rediculously loud. The furnishings have ding, rips and tears.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papasum07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Cambridge,UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cheap location, fine for a night or Two if you are on a tight budget. Area nothing special, gas station about 6 min walk away but wouldn`t walk there after dark.

My room was located in block near reception away from freeway so not really noisey but block by freeway probably not too good to sleep. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I would really struggle to recommend this hotel, preferring to spend a bit more for a cleaner room. The location is not good, its in an odd area and actually a little hard to find. The room itself was not in good shape. Normally I would enjoy the in-room coffee service, however the coffee pot was filthy. The bedding is worn, the carpet is terribly stained, and the towels need to be replaced. I peaked in on breakfast, however judging from the overall cleanliness of the place, wouldnt risk eating there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Looking for a cheap & clean room, we drove all over the place in Oakland, everything was either booked or overpriced, we seen this spot and when we entered, we instantly liked it. Very small property, but very well kept and clean. the pictures do no justice,the General Manager, Mrs. Patel was very nice and helpful. Our room was clean, spacious and surprisingly my picky husband LOVED it so much we came right back the next night. I have already recommended this spot to a few friends. we loved it, we will definitely return :) unfortunately we never got o at breakfast because we checked out early, but it looks awesome.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear how the guests above you are spending their evening/late night qt, req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#11 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#23 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Address: 4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing