We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was fine; comfortable bed, friendly staff, clean room. The only downside to the property itself is that there was little to insulate the sound of the nearby freeway so I could hear trucks going by all night.

The location on the other hand was horrid. Its right in the middle of an industrial area near the airport so there people wearing gang colours and hookers all over the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno,Ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First when I arrived in the vicinity of this hotel, I wasn't too impressed with its surroundings. Since I already had reservation, I had no choice but to check in. Friendly manager gave me a room, and I couldn't believe what I got for my money. Room was lot better than I thought. My room was clean, equipped with TV, Microwave, Iron and ironing board, comfortable bed. I had no problem at all in staying at this hotel for 5 nights.In future I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Upon arrival, the handles going into check in were sticky with dirt. The dirt was so thick that it was caked on. Clearly they had not been cleaned in a while. The location is close to the Coliseum, so when we booked through Hotelplanner.com we thought it would be ideal. When you book your room the way we did, you pay the booker directly. When we checked into our room, the carpet was very worn out and dirty. Our feet were black on the bottom within hours of check in. The room has very nice crown molding and base boards, however, they were filthy with dust. Across from our room sat a broken washing machine for 3 days that we were there. We would have checked out the day we arrived, however we had already paid Hotelplanner and did not have extra cash to switch hotels. We did check out a day early because it was so bad, and after complaining to the front desk, they said that we still had to pay for the last night because of the way we booked. No apology, no "let us make it right"...Nothing!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

From the time I arrived until checkout the staff and management were both friendly and helpful. The hotel's location makes easy access to Oakland, alameda and downtown San Francisco. The rooms are clean and quiet with excellent facilities including refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and even iron and ironing board.

Would be more than happy to stay here next time I'm in the area. Thanks to all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have no complaints about this budget hotel. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast, and close to shops and restaurants. The staff here are very helpful and the grounds are neat and tidy. Also, pet friendly :) My partner, mother and father in law and my son stayed here for 4 days and three nights - very comfortable beds and full cable and WIFI. Excellent value for money !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for the Raider/Steeler game. We tried to checkin early ( 9-10 a.m.)having come from San Fran with bags in tow and wanting to get to the game to tailgate. There were no rooms available yet but the owners were very acomodating ( THANKS). The Hotel itself is well kept and the room was nicely decorated with a fridge and microwave. Lots of plug ins on each side of the bed to charge todays electrinic devices. They also offer a comp. breakfast ( simple but enough)
We took a cab from the bart station to the hotel. We did however walk to the Coliseum. It is a straight shot up Coliseum Way to it. The area is a little dirty with some bad smells but was lined with food vendors . It seemed safe enough in the day but we didn't walk it at night. We also walked to the bart station to catch the airbart to fly out. ( to the Coliseum up the ramp and across the walkway and down the stairs.)
The only negatives were our room was right by the only ice and soda machine ( a bit loud) and the really are no close food sources except the food vendors that were out ( got the papusas :)) but the husband is picky so when we went to order food of the non pizza type it was VERY expensive,
Having traveled abroad this was fine for us and we would stay again for a game but some people may have problems with the lacation.

Room Tip: unless you can deal with noise ask for a room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

first off i booked the room 3 months ahead and it stated it included a fridge a flat screen and a microwave and smoke free. well all was true except the flat screen and when i asked they told me only the suites had it. when my itenerary stated it. i know they arent guarenteed but i didnt book a suite so why would it even mention it. they first gave me a smoking room and it was unbearable i had to ask for a switch. they were prompt in doing so but the next room i got had a real nasty smell. at this point i jus had to deal because we had to get ready for the game. they say they offer breakfast i left too early to try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Address: 4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.