We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can walk to the Coliseum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“You can walk to the Coliseum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for the Raider/Steeler game. We tried to checkin early ( 9-10 a.m.)having come from San Fran with bags in tow and wanting to get to the game to tailgate. There were no rooms available yet but the owners were very acomodating ( THANKS). The Hotel itself is well kept and the room was nicely decorated with a fridge and microwave. Lots of plug ins on each side of the bed to charge todays electrinic devices. They also offer a comp. breakfast ( simple but enough)
We took a cab from the bart station to the hotel. We did however walk to the Coliseum. It is a straight shot up Coliseum Way to it. The area is a little dirty with some bad smells but was lined with food vendors . It seemed safe enough in the day but we didn't walk it at night. We also walked to the bart station to catch the airbart to fly out. ( to the Coliseum up the ramp and across the walkway and down the stairs.)
The only negatives were our room was right by the only ice and soda machine ( a bit loud) and the really are no close food sources except the food vendors that were out ( got the papusas :)) but the husband is picky so when we went to order food of the non pizza type it was VERY expensive,
Having traveled abroad this was fine for us and we would stay again for a game but some people may have problems with the lacation.

Room Tip: unless you can deal with noise ask for a room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

first off i booked the room 3 months ahead and it stated it included a fridge a flat screen and a microwave and smoke free. well all was true except the flat screen and when i asked they told me only the suites had it. when my itenerary stated it. i know they arent guarenteed but i didnt book a suite so why would it even mention it. they first gave me a smoking room and it was unbearable i had to ask for a switch. they were prompt in doing so but the next room i got had a real nasty smell. at this point i jus had to deal because we had to get ready for the game. they say they offer breakfast i left too early to try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice modern rooms, enough parking space. Absolut cheap for that area. The part of Oakland might not be the best, but we felt absolutely safe there. nice rooms nice service. I would defenetly go there again. Only 15 minutes to the center of San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I read the reviews and was still very taken back by the out laying area. Its in a not so pretty and run down industrial area. I continued to stay because I had no intention on sleeping in my car or going for a walk.

Check-in was fast and fairly polite. The busIness center Is sImply a computer In the corner of the check area but It was accessable. Free wIfI. The breakfast room was clean and in need of more snacks but I went out for food. They offered cereal and apples, o.j., apple juice and milk. I was a little disappointed because who doesn't enjoy a muffin or danish with their room coffee.

There were 2 floors and I did not see an elevator. The people above us walked around a lot and we could somewhat hear but it wasn't intrusive. The room seemed to be very clean and had a fair amount of space. It also had a large closet, iron, ironing board, a fridge and a hair dryer. The bed was great and the sheets were new. Lots of pillows were included! The restroom was also clean and well stocked with towels. The only complaint I really had was how dirty the carpet was. It seemed to be surface stains, easily cleaned with a steam cleaner. Other than that it was a pretty good nights rest and I felt very safe. Go ahead book and enjoy!

On a side note the entire area was no Beverly Hills even populated areas were run down. A Denny's was close and on the same road is a Swap Meet (if you're lookin to waste some time).

Room Tip: Get a top floor room if you're bothered by every little noise and you're able to climb stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Was in town for the Raiders Game!!!! It is NOT in a bad area of town whatsoever, its in the industrial area of town, which means no bad neighborhoods. My friend and I walked from the hotel to the coliseum watched the game got nice and buzzed, and walked back to the hotel at night from the coliseum. It's only a 20 minute walk, not very far at all, give you a good chance to drink a couple of beers before you get to the coliseum. Not one person messed with us at all, actually encountered some very friendly people in Oakland, well maybe cause I'm a Raiders fan. The hotel was very nice, the grounds where clean, rooms were clean, looks just like it did in the pictures. I am only coming here from now on when I come to watch the Raiders games. Only $80 for the room after taxes, which is worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location was terrible we did not feel safe at all. Near the motel there are no supermarkets and the Bart is far. SThe rooms however were clean enough even though there was a stain on one of the towels.Stay away from this motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were in Oakland for a concert and needed a place to stay. We knew nothing about the area...so, based on reviews I read on here..I booked this hotel. Boy was I glad we did!! After a previous night's stay in a hotel that even the Addam's Family wouldn't have stayed at...we were a little leery when we got off at the exit and saw the graffiti. But, when we pulled into the driveway, it was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is absolutely adorable and basically like a little island. It's surrounded by an industrial area..but, it's quiet and cheerfully decorated. The room was one of the cleanest we've ever encountered. The only complaint was mold on the shower curtain, which was quickly replaced when I called down to the office. It is right up against the interstate...but, with the air conditioner on..we didn't hear a thing and slept like babies. My husband was concerned with the safety of staying in Oakland..but, we had NO problems at all. The concert was at the Oracle and we were only a 5 min drive. The only downside is..there's really nowhere around to eat. There is a Boston Market right down the interstate and a Papa John's that delivers. So, we made do. Seriously...if you are going to San Francisco and don't want to pay the outrageous hotel prices or if you're going to the Oracle...stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Address: 4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.