We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Aviation Museum

Oakland Aviation Museum
8252 Earhart Road, Oakland, CA CA 94621
+1(510) 638 7100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 116 things to do in Oakland
Attraction details
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could be better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

i think we chose the wrong weekend to come. None of the aircraft outside were open ( there's a open cockpit day on june 16th 2013 though) and we weren't too interested in seeing old one from outside. My nieces enjoyed playing in the 2 small replica's at the entrance. My main problem with the place was that it cost $10 per person.. and we were through in less than 30 minutes.. but then again.. i am not a big aviation enthusiast. The place is small.. nothing fancy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“small but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small aviation museum located near the Oakland airport. It has a lot to offer ranging from early 20th century aircraft to the modern. I especially liked the area about Transocean Airlines and its connection with the Oakland airport and other airlines around the world. This is a nice place for aviation enthusiast to spend an hour or two.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The Tomcat was a Hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not a big place but a good cross-section of aircraft from military to personal, early aviation to recent. My sons (teen/tween) got a real kick out of the Tomcat. They were opening up a plane for a tour so we got to go inside a midsized plane formerly used by a general. We were there on a weekday so there was hardly anyone there which made for good photo ops and we saw it all in about 90 minutes. Was worth the trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful old aircraft on display”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

It is a small museum, but a lot of displays with interesting historical information and photos. There's even a child sized airplane replica of a fighter plane, and our 2 year oldgrandson was so tickled to be able to climb in it and "drive"

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Aviation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.