We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on Chester” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Oakland

Old Oakland
8th and Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not on Chester”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I don't know why the Trip Advisor app gives an address of 835 Chester for Old Oakland. The area designated Old Oakland (complete with banners on light poles) is more than a mile away, between Clay and Broadway and roughly 8th and 10th. There are a number of well maintained Victorian buildings. The Historic Housewives Market on Washington is worth looking inside, for a wall mural giving its history. If you are in the area this small district makes for a pleasant stroll.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Work in the are”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A native of Oakland, I was delighted to see the reinvention of one of our most beautiful architectural locations. A perfect mixture of new and old, this part of Oakland features some magnificent dining (Tamarindo, Cosecha & Siam Bay among others) and is a must see for visitors.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great walk....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visit the Belgium beer bar, around old town. The Indian food is out of this world. Would eat there everyday if we could.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Love the downtown it's got such great old buildings with cool architecture. Lots of little shops and deli's -Go exploring we found one we loved!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fun Downtown Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Plenty of restaurants and bars -- and food shopping (Housewives Market/Chinatown).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Oakland to your Saves list