We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chabot Space & Science Center

Chabot Space & Science Center
10000 Skyline Blvd, Oakland, CA 94619
510-336-7373
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Chabot Space & Science Center inspires and educates students of all ages about our Planet Earth and the Universe. Its historic telescopes and observatory, planetarium, hands-on interactive exhibits, and natural park setting are a place where students, teachers, and the public can imagine, understand, and learn to shape their future through science. Chabot's three large telescopes are open to the public on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My kids had so much fun here, they couldn't stop talking about it. Great hands on fun while learning about science. They have a nightime viewing thing on Friday and Saturday nights but unfortunately we weren't able to make it back for that. If you're looking for a great place to spend a few hours this is it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“great for kids and adults age 3+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was really impressed with this museum and would have given it 5 circles if the planetarium shows were different. The exhibits are excellent. There are places for young children to crawl around, interesting items on display for adults to view and read about, and everything in between. My 5-year-old and husband's favorite was the Russian space toilet, a temporary exhibit. The docent at the space capsule was very informative -- and getting inside was really fun. There were some teenagers with educational interactive activities in one area -- they were really nice and my child really learned from them -- I'm not sure if they are there every weekend though. We actually didn't have enough time to see the whole museum, but liked just about everything we did see. We were disappointed that the planetarium show was a movie that happened to be shown in a dome theatre -- it wasn't what we expected and the sound was REALLY LOUD. The cafe is really small, just a counter and display case, which is sufficient (and much appreciated) for a light and quick eat. I think there were a few packaged sandwiches, a soup, cold beverages and chips/cookies. You may want to eat right before you go into the museum because it is located in a park and the drive will be at least 15 minutes to get to a restaurant/eatery. You will want to spend 3+ hours at the museum, and it is a bit of a hassle (especially if you are with young kids) to exit the parking lot (free), drive out, eat, and re-enter -- you may lose momentum. The park is beautiful and you may want to take a hike as well, just watch out for the archery range. Finally, the museum offers members of ASTC-affiliated museums FREE ADMISSION beyond a 90-mile radius and HALF-PRICE ADMISSION within the 90-mile radius.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The exhibits were well done and geared toward making science fun and interesting to kids. We saw the "Cardboard Rocket" planetarium show (two shows are included with your admission) and my eight year old loved it. Bill Nye's Climate Lab was also a lot of fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a half day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I regularly take my out of town guests who have been to the Bay Area a bunch of times to the Chabot Space and Science Center. The drive to the Space Center gives visitors a nice view of the Bay. The view from the Space Center is nice but is partially blocked by trees. The exhibits are nice for children but don't rank as high as those in the Smithsonians in Washington D.C. The movie theater has educational movies in a dome setting. But, the real cool part is to actually use the telescopes at night to see the stars. Nothing beats seeing Jupiter or Saturn through a real telescope. On my most recent trip, I took advantage of their weekend "Dinner, a movie & the Universe" package. Admission, dinner, movies, and seeing the stars for $23. Food was surprisingly quite edible. If you have out of town guests who have seen all the usual Bay Area sights or if you want a nice way to spend an afternoon with kids, you can't lose with a visit to the Chabot Space and Science Center.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good for school age children and adults. Plan on working the exhibits on your own. There weren't any docents there when we went. The museum is just the right size for you to see everything you want. The setting is so beautiful that alone is worth the trip.2

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chabot Space & Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Chabot Space & Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabot Space & Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chabot Space & Science Center to your Saves list