We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best environment for a basketball gmae” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oracle Arena

Oracle Arena
7000 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94621
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 52 attractions in Oakland
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
Attraction Details
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best environment for a basketball gmae”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have not been to a concert here, or any other event except for a basketball game here so that is all I can speak to. Bottom line is the atmosphere in this place is electric. Loyal fans that are always loud and never seem to stop. The venue has remained pretty much the same over the years, I guess its rumored Warriors new owners are building a new arena right on the waterfront. No matter what happens, this has been a great place to watch games over the years, the sound really carries in here and I swear this place shakes sometimes! Bottom line, if your a sports fan, this place is one of the best in the league to catch a game at.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“As a concert venue, this leaves a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I'm reviewing the arena as a concert venue. I have been here for two shows - Pink's The Truth About Love tour in 2013 and a local radio station's Christmas Rock Show in 2011.

In both cases, I found the experience at Oakland Arena to be quite lacking. Here's why:

Sound quality: this venue is really designed for sports and, as such, does not seem to have great accoustics. Despite some world class acts passing through, my experience of the sound has been that it is not that loud and quite tinny.

Facilities: For concerts, they don't seem to open all of the concession stands. This creates enormous lines - think 20 minute waits - at the stands that are open before the show.

Parking: Parking is extremely expensive ($25-35) and if your show happens to coincide with a baseball game at the stadium next door, you can get caught in really bad traffic.

Public transit: The arena is right next to the Coliseum BART station, which is extremely convenient. But getting to the station can be a nightmare after a show. The overpass on which you have to walk is not wide enough and, to add to the congestion, hot dog sellers set up half way across further cramping things. Once at a U2 concert at the stadium, we ended up in a very uncomfortable large crowd situation just trying to get to the overpass and several people in the crowd got very nervous from the cramped conditions.

Upsides:
If I could find one upside, it is that the seats are actually quite comfy for this kind of stadium - even though I have long legs, I've found I can sit relatively comfortably.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Overpriced parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Depending upon the event at the arena parking can be $30 or more. Once inside the main level walkway can be crowded as the space was made more narrow when they remodeled the building several years ago.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Exciting Energy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Get there early to get food because you do do not want to leave your seat during a Warrior game. We sat in the third deck but had great views of the entire court and loved it. The fans have passion and energy for sure. Even during the breaks, there is entertainment from the Flying Dubs to kids dancing. There is a wide choice in food and even gluten free beer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The ROARCLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Watched a Warriors game here in early March, and as a basketball fan this has to have the best atmosphere of all basketball arenas. They make it feel like a college game, all the energy is amazing. DO not bring your kids as it will be too loud for them to cope. But if you are a basketball fan you have to see a Warriors Game.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oracle Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oracle Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oracle Arena to your Saves list