We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally excellent but very small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kakui

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kakui
2060 B Mountain Boulevard, Oakland, CA 94607
510-338-1188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kakui is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #285 of 994 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Salle Avenue
oakland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Generally excellent but very small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Been once, some of the food is terrific, but portion size is very small and the portions are not cheap. So, might return. It is luxury Japanese food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Most interesting sushi in oakland without breaking budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a neighborhood sushi restaurant in the Montclair district of Oakland. We like to sit outside when the weather permits but they do have a gas heater if you want alfresco dining on cooler days. Everything here is prepared and presented with a modern twist. Interesting sake menu. My favorite is nigiri. Always start with the Brussels sprouts...have a mustard sauce over grilled flavor. The "usual suspects" are on the menu and well prepared including edamame, seaweed salad, etc. Love their unique rolls. Favorites are green roll, Alicia roll with fire roasted jalepeno tops, and French kiss lobster roll. Sushi bar seating my favorite when we can't eat outside. Great value for the interesting food, and plenty of choices for meat eaters including ribs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Friendly Neighborhood Sushi Bar - But More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Kakui is in the Montclair district of Oakland. The trendy area is full of great restaurants and has lots of evening strollers going by. That is couples, but baby strollers are going by too. So for Kakui to set four tables outside on a summer evening was just great. Full of charm and friendly staff, this is a great place for a family friendly dinner. The sake menu is extensive, the featured wines are local, and the sashimi choices are inspired. I had their Oakland PD roll that was a combination of flavors, temperatures and textures. It was delicious. The owner stops by and checks in with you. Half the house was return customers, chatty and friendly. I've been to many sushi bars. This one stands out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice decor, friendly, good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I liked this upscale place in Montclair and the decor is beautiful. The sushi itself was good but not quite good enough to be "great" (went on a Sunday) Ordered some other dishes too. Pork belly was great, and the hamachi avocado dish also quite tasty. The mussels were not good - a number were barely open, so undercooked or just bad ones and the broth was too salty. The service was inconsistent and not good overall - they did not remove plates or offer to bring any small plates, they served food at the corner of the table for some reason. So, that needs improvement, as is often the case with restaurants that focus on food and not training! All in all, I liked it and would try again, but I was not compelled to return or rate it highly without some improvements.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“nigiri, sashimi and tempura all excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had lunch and the nigiri salmon, sashimi and tempura all were quite good. Add in the miso soup and it was quite good. Prices may be average for sushi but can mount when you add a few sashimi. Our service was good-I've heard it's spotty at times. For us, it's a winner and we plan to return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakui also viewed

 

Been to Kakui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.