We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern menu, interesting decor and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mua

Mua
2442A Webster Street, Oakland, CA 94612
510-238-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mua is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,064 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern menu, interesting decor and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mua clearly works hard to serve the latest in food and drinks. The menu is both healthy and interesting. The restaurant serves small plates and it is for a reasonable price. I had my first kale salad in a restaurant and there were dozens of other plates I would love to try. It is a little loud, but not so loud that you can't have a conversation. The service is very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    23
    20
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto vallarta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good but loud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Overall very good atmosphere. People watching is a plus. A mother with her teen drowned in her Iphone; a son accommodating his father in a wheelchair helping him feed; a couple families with youngsters; a couple of young ladies, couple with young men... all kind of people. Level of noise a little high, but the food was great. Porcini crostinis were perfect! The fish (halibut) & chips was delicious. Crunchy on the outside, not too much oil and sooooo flaky on the inside. Ginger cake was very tasty! Simplicity, flavor and small diversity (that's for the food). Service was good. Just had to tell the server what was a Bombay Sapphire martini. Overall a great experience. Just can't say excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyably different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We came in on a first Friday so the area was crammed with people and we still got a seat, the place is big and noisy. The menu seemed to be mostly mixed drinks, but the food that was there is varied and tasty. We shared the mussels on fries with an aoli sauce which was quite good and very different, the ahi tuna and salad were also very good. We will come back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere - Need to come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Menu was simple, but varied. Food and service was good. Atmosphere and unique setting was great. Ideal for both large and small parties. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Funky atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our friends took us there for soul food. The place was like a warehouse with 1 1/2 storeys with lots of paintings We could not get in the dining room because it was too full. We sat at the bar area, instead. We order a number of side dishes with 2 main courses and share them among us. One of us is a vegan, he order a kale salad (with our any meat or milk) and it still taste very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mua also viewed

 

Been to Mua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.