We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mua

Mua
2442A Webster Street, Oakland, CA 94612
510-238-1100
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,047 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Funky atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our friends took us there for soul food. The place was like a warehouse with 1 1/2 storeys with lots of paintings We could not get in the dining room because it was too full. We sat at the bar area, instead. We order a number of side dishes with 2 main courses and share them among us. One of us is a vegan, he order a kale salad (with our any meat or milk) and it still taste very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    20
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“FAB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great atmosphere....reccommend cocktaIls........waiter gave great advice
We had 2 starters each for the table as a kind of tapas to share.
Prawns, craabcakes, salad, macaroni cheese (no Cheese!!) were all excellent.
Reasonably priced. Go see....
Quiky setting. In an old Car Showroom (Garage).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like Button”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Large space and great vibe. My friend and I love to go to Mua right after work. The bartender (can't remember his name) rocks! He's super friendly and always recommends excellent appetizers! I've also gone for dinner and the food is consistent and the wait staff is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool spot, happy hour, great food, creative cocktails, what more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to Mua for the first time the other night with some friends, it was great, we got some drinks at the bar on happy hour (6 down from 10), then were promptly seated. Great service, not intrusive, but always there when you need them. It has a cool decor and vibe to it, not stuck up or "suit-y", yet still is a nice place worthy of a date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top quality food & drink - in a cool environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had an excellent dinner for 8 - including beverages, small plates, large plates and desert. Everything was great. Superb selection of beers, and very good selection of wines by the glass and bottle.

We enjoyed the small plates:
Garlic shrimp, fried tofu, mac& cheese, grilled romaine, beet salad. We'll have to go back to try he rest of the selection.

For the larger plates, the CPQ burger (think falafel burger with extra zing), hamburger, duck confit, shrimp po'boy were very good.

The bread pudding, afogato and flourless chocolate cake deserts were so scrumptious.

It is a lively environment, and you should call for reservations.

Definitely worth a trip into Oakland to dine on the amazing fare and take in the scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mua also viewed

 

Been to Mua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.