We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mua

Mua
2442A Webster Street, Oakland, CA 94612
510-238-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mua is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 996 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Funky atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our friends took us there for soul food. The place was like a warehouse with 1 1/2 storeys with lots of paintings We could not get in the dining room because it was too full. We sat at the bar area, instead. We order a number of side dishes with 2 main courses and share them among us. One of us is a vegan, he order a kale salad (with our any meat or milk) and it still taste very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“FAB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great atmosphere....reccommend cocktaIls........waiter gave great advice
We had 2 starters each for the table as a kind of tapas to share.
Prawns, craabcakes, salad, macaroni cheese (no Cheese!!) were all excellent.
Reasonably priced. Go see....
Quiky setting. In an old Car Showroom (Garage).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Like Button”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Large space and great vibe. My friend and I love to go to Mua right after work. The bartender (can't remember his name) rocks! He's super friendly and always recommends excellent appetizers! I've also gone for dinner and the food is consistent and the wait staff is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cool spot, happy hour, great food, creative cocktails, what more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to Mua for the first time the other night with some friends, it was great, we got some drinks at the bar on happy hour (6 down from 10), then were promptly seated. Great service, not intrusive, but always there when you need them. It has a cool decor and vibe to it, not stuck up or "suit-y", yet still is a nice place worthy of a date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Top quality food & drink - in a cool environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had an excellent dinner for 8 - including beverages, small plates, large plates and desert. Everything was great. Superb selection of beers, and very good selection of wines by the glass and bottle.

We enjoyed the small plates:
Garlic shrimp, fried tofu, mac& cheese, grilled romaine, beet salad. We'll have to go back to try he rest of the selection.

For the larger plates, the CPQ burger (think falafel burger with extra zing), hamburger, duck confit, shrimp po'boy were very good.

The bread pudding, afogato and flourless chocolate cake deserts were so scrumptious.

It is a lively environment, and you should call for reservations.

Definitely worth a trip into Oakland to dine on the amazing fare and take in the scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mua also viewed

 

Been to Mua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.