We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just feel cool being there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mua

Mua
2442A Webster Street, Oakland, CA 94612
510-238-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mua is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,075 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I just feel cool being there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The fake mac and cheese is better than you could posssibly think! This place is both delicious, spaceous and just freakin cool. Go enjoy embrassing your inner hipster over a delicious cocktail here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and upbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent food and music! Live DJ and a lively environment that you can still enjoy a great conversation in. Great drinks too. The lamb tagine was excellent! There was only two of use but we order a few small plates and a couple larger plates (calamari, brussel sprouts, garlic shrimp etc). What a surprising place located on the auto row! Great for after work fun and weekend hangout. If you like quiet this isn't for you but it's a very funky and fun place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Cool, hip eatery with many offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had dinner here with friends from the East Bay to celebrate a birthday. We shared the entire meal which was mostly small plates and one entree-sized serving. We were able to have a variety of dishes, all creatively prepared: artichoke hearts, bone marrow, mac and cheese w/o cheese, watermelon salad, garlic prawns, collard greens with bacon, fried chicken with coleslaw and cornbread, bread pudding and pineapple upside down cake. Really delicious meal, and everyone was happy and full by the end. Good place to go if you want to try different foods but don't want to commit to having it as your entree! Funky atmosphere - very eclectic! Good service, fun drink menu as well. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food was outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

By brother brought all of our out-of-town family here to celebrate my niece's graduation. They accomodated us in a private room with exceptional service and outstanding food.
The salad and vegetables tasted fresh picked and they did amazing things with arugula! Butternut squash mac n cheese was amazing! Our salmon and chicken entrees were wonderful, but my fav was the flourless chocolate cake for dessert!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

While the service was excellent, the food was disappointing. We had high expectations, since we enjoyed their other restaurant so much. The artichoke was tough. The beet salad was very ordinary with only the usual variety of beet. The brussels sprouts were poorly prepared. The entrees were the only highlight of the meal. With so many wonderful restaurants in Oakland I doubt if we will ever return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mua also viewed

 

Been to Mua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.