We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellanico

Bellanico
4238 Park Blvd, Oakland, CA 94602-1312
510-336-1180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bellanico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,069 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wellington
Transit: AC Transit #18
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went on a very busy evening and had to sit at the bar right near the door and the cold air coming in. It did not dampen our experience one little bit. (The staff were always right there to close the door when someone came in.) In fact, sitting at the bar was a plus, because the woman taking care of us was exceptional. She clearly loved her job, the restaurant and the food and her enthusiasm was contagious. But it was easy to be enthusiastic because the food was just wonderful. The wild boar ragu with gnocchi was, in our waitress' words, "insane". Every bite was delightful. The chard stem gratinata is one of those dishes for which the whole is way more than the sum of it's parts. Incredible. I loved that we could purchase "wine flights", 3 (almost) half glasses, thereby experiencing different Italian wines with our meal. We were too full for dessert, but we were reassured we could come for coffee and dessert at any time. I just loved this place (so did my husband.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    31
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant--Even its a Small Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent flavors, nice atmosphere and great food with an expansive menu. Italian, but not just pasta. Great duck (cooked 2 ways--roasted breast and confit leg), excellent steak, great brined chicken.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Bellanico is really neato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Malafatti is wonderful. The arctic char was superb. The food is always cooked to perfection. The wines are wonderful. The service is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Consistently great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I love this neighborhood gem. Great wine great service and easy access from both freeways. The concierge at the Claremont hotel told me how close it was and to give it a try. Now I'm hooked!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gem in Glenview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We looked at reviews and decided to try this place before our show at the Paramount. What a delight! Everything we had was excellent. Great service, attentive without being pushed. The yellowtail had a lovely sauce that was not too heavy and cooked perfectly. Very nice little place, we will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellanico also viewed

 
Oakland, CA
 

Been to Bellanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellanico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.