We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant--Even its a Small Local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellanico

Bellanico
4238 Park Blvd, Oakland, CA 94602-1312
510-336-1180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bellanico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,078 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wellington
Transit: AC Transit #18
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant--Even its a Small Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent flavors, nice atmosphere and great food with an expansive menu. Italian, but not just pasta. Great duck (cooked 2 ways--roasted breast and confit leg), excellent steak, great brined chicken.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Bellanico is really neato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Malafatti is wonderful. The arctic char was superb. The food is always cooked to perfection. The wines are wonderful. The service is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Consistently great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I love this neighborhood gem. Great wine great service and easy access from both freeways. The concierge at the Claremont hotel told me how close it was and to give it a try. Now I'm hooked!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gem in Glenview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We looked at reviews and decided to try this place before our show at the Paramount. What a delight! Everything we had was excellent. Great service, attentive without being pushed. The yellowtail had a lovely sauce that was not too heavy and cooked perfectly. Very nice little place, we will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Every bite was divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Each course in the $30 tasting menu was absolutely delicious. I had to try the fava beans, as they are so briefly in season. They did not disappoint. I was particularly taken with the sformato, a dish I had never tried before. I highly recommend it. The hanger steak was cooked to perfection and the accompanying foods added to the pleasure of the dish. The tiny chocolate, date, and walnut dessert was a satisfying finish to a sensational dining experience.
I enjoyed the "Le Marche" flight of red wines. The first offering, a Lacrima Nera, actually tasted of roses. The other two wines in that flight were Sangiovese blends. Although very nice they did not compare to the delight I found in the "black tears" (lacrima nera).
The restaurant is noisy, but I will go there every chance I have. What a find. Bravo Bellanico!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellanico also viewed

 

Been to Bellanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellanico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.