We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cathedral of Christ the Light

The Cathedral of Christ the Light
2121 Harrison St., Oakland, CA 94612
+1 510-832-5057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 118 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anchored by the world's newest Catholic cathedral - The Cathedral of Christ the Light - the entire Cathedral Center is a beautiful and welcoming gathering place to experience liturgy, arts and cultural events reflecting the diversity of Oakland and the Bay Area.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I think I liked this because we came across it by accident while waling through Oakland centre. Stunning architecture.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A beautiful structure and very "green". We took the free tour that is offered at 1:00 on weekdays and discovered so many interesting facts about the building such as it being lit only by natural light during the day and there being no need for AC or heat most days due to aspects of construction that save energy. They also explained how it is kept safe from earthquake damage despite being encased in glass. The blending of glass and wood was beautiful. There is also some 16th century art incorporated into this very modern design. Don't forget to visit the crypts in the lower level.

As a worship space It was better than I expected. We attended a weekday Mass and it was not cold and impersonal but warm and inviting. Easy to get to on the BART. The cafe and gift shop adjacent to the cathedral were nice too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Architectural gem in Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nothing to dislike. I went with 2 friends just to see it. Incredible building right near Lake Merritt.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For the money gone into it, it's pretty sweet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Otherwise, I'd say it was pretty overrated. The ceilings are really high which gives it a sense of greatness, but ultimately, walking around made me feel really small and lonely. It has a huge tub of holy water in the back which stood out and a downstairs which was HUMONGOUS. I found it a bit odd that it was so close in proximity to work buildings, but it has a fine view of Fairyland and Lake Merritt.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very modern and open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

if there are not a lot of worshippers present for a service, one tends to feel lost and looks up to the glass ceiling instead that gives off a different light depending of the time of day and the position of the sun rays.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cathedral of Christ the Light also viewed

 

Been to The Cathedral of Christ the Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cathedral of Christ the Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.