We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for religion. Worth the stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cathedral of Christ the Light

The Cathedral of Christ the Light
2121 Harrison St., Oakland, CA 94612
+1 510-832-5057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 112 things to do in Oakland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anchored by the world's newest Catholic cathedral - The Cathedral of Christ the Light - the entire Cathedral Center is a beautiful and welcoming gathering place to experience liturgy, arts and cultural events reflecting the diversity of Oakland and the Bay Area.
puerto vallarta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not just for religion. Worth the stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very interesting architecture! Great lighting and the floor plan is crazy! So much you do not even see. I had a speedy private tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Truly an inspirational worship space. The Cathedral of Christ the LIGHT was an open, airy space with a homey welcome feel. The usher was friendly in his greeting and I felt welcomed to the space. The music was inspirational and the priest gave a good homily.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, Ca.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a destination from anyplace in California. Worth the trip to see amazing, world class architecture. Try to taken organized tour to see it all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meditate Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love to go on a run around the lake and when I am finished I go into the cathedral and meditate. Such a great space. I'm not catholic or anything but I can definitely appreciate the beauty of this mega church. Great Acoustics!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I am not religious, but I love this cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It has terrible acoustics, so is not good for a concert, but the feeling of the place is wonderful. When my friend had cancer our family lit our candles there, and prayed, and she is now cancer-free! So it works even for the non-religious. My husband and father-in-law went for the Spanish Christmas mass, (no unfortunately, we aren't spanish-speaking), but my FIL decided last minute that he wanted to go to Christmas Mass. They both came home glowing. So I think of this place as sanctuary for all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cathedral of Christ the Light also viewed

 

Been to The Cathedral of Christ the Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cathedral of Christ the Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.