We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cathedral of Christ the Light

The Cathedral of Christ the Light
2121 Harrison St., Oakland, CA 94612
+1 510-832-5057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 48 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Anchored by the world's newest Catholic cathedral - The Cathedral of Christ the Light - the entire Cathedral Center is a beautiful and welcoming gathering place to experience liturgy, arts and cultural events reflecting the diversity of Oakland and the Bay Area.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Truly an inspirational worship space. The Cathedral of Christ the LIGHT was an open, airy space with a homey welcome feel. The usher was friendly in his greeting and I felt welcomed to the space. The music was inspirational and the priest gave a good homily.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, Ca.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a destination from anyplace in California. Worth the trip to see amazing, world class architecture. Try to taken organized tour to see it all.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meditate Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love to go on a run around the lake and when I am finished I go into the cathedral and meditate. Such a great space. I'm not catholic or anything but I can definitely appreciate the beauty of this mega church. Great Acoustics!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I am not religious, but I love this cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It has terrible acoustics, so is not good for a concert, but the feeling of the place is wonderful. When my friend had cancer our family lit our candles there, and prayed, and she is now cancer-free! So it works even for the non-religious. My husband and father-in-law went for the Spanish Christmas mass, (no unfortunately, we aren't spanish-speaking), but my FIL decided last minute that he wanted to go to Christmas Mass. They both came home glowing. So I think of this place as sanctuary for all.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nt all that great looking, and took land off the tax rolls”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great location right on Lake Merritt but it doesn't use the location at all. Is certainly lighter than if it had been a concrete monstrousity without the extensive windows, but really nothing special. Worst of all it now takes land off the tax rolls and Oakland needs the tax money far more than it needs another church dispensing fairy tales

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cathedral of Christ the Light also viewed

 

Been to The Cathedral of Christ the Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cathedral of Christ the Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.