We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 13th St, Between Franklin & Webster, Oakland, CA 94612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The staff is very friendly and the room while on the smile side was clean. The hotel is very convenient to all public transportation.
Suggestion:Do NOT eat at the Tribune!!!
Reason for Trip:vacation
Travel Companions:Spouse/Significant Other

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
What a pleasure to read this! I'm happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome right away. If you're ever back in Oakland, we'd love to have you back.

Hope you had a great rest of your trip!
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    67
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
14
35
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our room was pretty small, like a hole in the wall. The paint job in the room isn't nice either. And there was flies! And after we killed four flies we made sure the window was securely closed (which it was) and somehow more flies came in even baby ones. Very disappointed. I'd compare this 'hotel' to a motel 6. This was the only closest 'hotel' nearby that was next to the Fox Theater to see The Neighbourhood. Next time we are just going to find a good hotel like the Marriott, Hyatt, or something similar further away and just request an Uber car to take us to the Fox Theater. Oh and the elevator feels like it's about to break down on you when you are on it. At one point we just took the stairs because that's how wobbly it was and it only fits 3 people not including luggage.

Never again Clarion 'hotel'.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Of course, we're disappointed that you didn't have a great stay with us last time. What a pain to have to deal with flies on your trip! Did you let any of our staff know about the problem? We would've been happy to help you out had we known.

As for the elevator, I can assure you that it has been inspected and runs properly. Our guests' safety is always a priority, so we take great care to keep the hotel up to the highest safety standards. If you have any further feedback, please feel free to call us at
(510) 279-1700.

All the best,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I came to Oakland for a court hearing, and this Hotel was very much nearby to the court house. The prices were very reasonable (below 200), had a coffee spot a block away (win), and an Indian restaurant a block away (double win).

Cons are that the AC is right next to the desk, so if you are going to work for a while, you will have the AC right next to your leg. Also, not too many windows in the room. That said, the bed was comfortable and the staff was nice.

One thing I forgot while I was there, they have a breakfast included for a low price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Convenient and near coffee -- that's always a plus! Glad you had a nice stay with us while you were in town. I'm excited to hear that you had nothing but friendly interactions with our staff. I'll be sure to thank them for a job well done. If you find yourself back in Oakland, we'd love to see you again -- you'll have to try the breakfast next time.

Take care,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I frequent Oakland( used to live there and have many friends in the Bay area ) , and I always try to stay at this hotel when I am in town. I like the proximity to the BART, local restaurants with in walking distance( Vegetarian and Indian at your door step), two drug stores on the corner, parking lot next door(additional price), you get the idea. It is not top of the line, but it is always clean, and reasonably priced. I like the fact you can open a window to breath, and the individual air conditioners mask any outside noise.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor,away from the elevator- interior room with window that opens - not great view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
It's great that you can always count on us for a good stay in town! Thanks for spreading the word about us here on TripAdvisor. Whenever you're visiting the Bay Area, keep us in mind.

See you next time,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Plus- low conference rate, location 1 block from downtown BART, some nice fixtures (sink vessel), real ceramic cups/glases but bad coffee (4 cup pot, bring your own grounds).
Minuses – Single bed (comfortable enough) in room just large enough to accommodate it (10 x 12). Check out room FIRST and ask for better if needed. Small desk w/chipped paint and low chair (only chair in room), hard to work at (other furniture in decent shape). One small window on air shaft. One small elevator that creaks and groans. Spotty service – no one at desk to check in at 8pm (maybe in bathroom, but should have a “be right back sign” so you know it is attended); dirty towels left on floor (maybe I didn’t leave housekeeping a big enough tip?).

Room Tip: Check size and location (not near elevator) before you drop your bags. If too small or noise, go bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback, Steve. While I'm glad the location and rate were what you were looking for, I'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us more. We're surprised to hear that the desk was unattended when you came by -- I'll talk to my staff to make sure we're better about this in the future. If you find yourself back in Oakland, we'd be happy to help you find a better size room fit for you.

All the best,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in hotel a week ago and had no problems at all! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was roomy, nice and clean. Bed was a king and those pillows they use are super comfy! Ok, the area is not the best but we had no issues. It was a bit noisy at night but eventually it stopped. We had a room with city view so if you are not a fan of rowdy crowds and want to sleep you may consider asking for different room. Again, we stayed for the weekend so not sure how noisy it gets during the week at night and again you are in downtown, never none of a downtown being quiet. If you are in need of cocktails there's a great bar about a block down from hotel called Radio.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Satisfied is what we like to hear, Cynthia! While being downtown does put us close to a lot of the action, we're glad that noise didn't detract too much from your stay; the city views are definitely our favorite part of being down here. Next time you're in Oakland, we hope to see you again.

Hope you had a great rest of your trip!
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed in the hotel 4/13/14-4/15/14 in room 708. On the morning of 4/15 I woke up at 4am to get ready to check out and fly back home, but I noticed my arm was itchy and in the shower I realized I had bite marks all over. I went back to inspect the bed and found a bed bug (I snapped a picture) gathered my things and notified the front desk as I checked out at 5am. The staff was unable to find the mangers card but asked for my information so that they could call me once they got in that day. I got home and had to de-bug what I could of my things and still no contact from management! I called them at 3:20 and the staff said they had left for the day and I notified them that this matter could not wait, again they took my info down. They called back to say the GM (Ayu) would call me 4/16 after an inspection was done. By 2pm 4/16 I was tired of not hearing back, I left a message on Ayu's voice mail. I have grown quite tired with the lack of urgency of this establishment. I have had to throw out my carry on luggage, my Timbuk2 messenger bag and Timbuk2 toiletry bag (Timbuk2 bags valued at $200 and cannot be heat treated b/c they melt.) Not to mention the 50+ bites I have all over my face, torso, arms, legs, and hands. Who knows if my apartment will now become infested. I wish I knew to check the bed bug registry site before booking b/c this is NOT this hotels first occurrence with bed bugs. So far this situation has NOT been handled well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We're so sorry that you had to experience that, Erika. When you're on vacation, the last thing you want is added stress. I apologize that our response was delayed; we wanted to make sure to have the room inspected by pest control to confirm the source of the bed bugs. I assure you this experience is out of the ordinary for us. While we always fully inspect and clean every room after each guest, bed bugs travel fast and can come from a variety of sources when guests are coming in and out of the hotel all day. I'll be sure to stay on top of this in the future to make sure we do everything we can to minimize opportunities for bed bugs in our hotel. If you have any further concerns, please don't hesitate to be in touch.

Sincerely,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#17 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Oakland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland

Address: 371 13th St, Between Franklin & Webster, Oakland, CA 94612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is within walking distance to the Oakland Convention Center, BART Station, 8 miles from the Oracle Arena & Oakland Coliseum, City Hall, Federal Building, Alameda County Court House. 8 miles from Oakland International Airport (Take Bart from Airport to Hotel). Take Bart from Hotel to San Francisco.We have added parking, overnight rate $15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.