We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, priced right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   371 13th St, Between Franklin & Webster, Oakland, CA 94612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Oakland
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, priced right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at this for an event at Jack London Square. Hotel was a fair price for a decent room. Room small but efficient. Elevator small, but okay. I stayed on 3rd floor so I used the stairs. Two (non related?) on site restaurants, reasonably priced. LOCATION...: It was about 25 minute walk to Jack London Square. During the week there is a free bus a couple of blocks away. There was a city bus also 2 blocks away. The subway (Bart) was a few minute walk to get you to San Fran or other distant destinations. Yuppie bar scene was a block away at the Oakland Tribune Tavern, which always was a happening place when I passed by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Gary,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to know you found your room convenient, comfortable and enjoyable. That's the goal! Hope to see you again the next time you visit the Bay Area!

Take care,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
10
33
26
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel appears to be an extensively refurbished older property. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and large enough. One nice touch was that every lamp in the room had a standard socket to plug in a laptop, phone charger or some other device. Too many hotels these days are sorely short on electrical outlets for the modern wired traveler. The bed was comfortable, it was quiet and I slept well. No breakfast, only coffee. The neigborhood is not the best. Two quirks: The furniture obviously had a place for a refrigerator, but the room did not have one. There was a sign in the room saying it was a smoke free hotel and had designated outside smoking areas. That was out in front of the hotel.

At $80.00 per night it was not a bad deal at all, considering another national chain hotel two blocks away was charging $205.00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad to know you found your room clean, comfortable and affordable. That's the goal! Considering you had an enjoyable stay, I'm confused as to why you only rated us 3 stars. What can we do to improve? I appreciate your feedback and hope to hear back from you soon.

Best,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a good stay during a business trip. Everything reasonable in SF was booked; this hotel is only one block from BART so a short ride into SF financial district. Staff was friendly, room on the smaller side but clean, no evening noise, good wi-fi. Did not venture beyond the one block stretch between hotel and BART: several restaurants/bar/coffee shop. The kebab/Indian restaurant adjacent to hotel was very reasonable and good quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayalnesh C, Manager at Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for recommending us! I'm glad to know you found our hotel comfortable and convenient to the Financial District. I hope you stay with us the next time you visit San Francisco!

Take care,
Ayu, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Whether it is for business or personal, this hotel does not offer much. Hotel was recently remodeled and staff is friendly. No swimming pool. The fitness room - Be careful! Treadmill can change settings at any given time. Refrigerator and microwave were clean. It is a decent place to stay in downtown Oakland, CA. No matter where you go in downtown Oakland, you will see homelessness and dirty streets. I would stay for less than $100 a night and that's including the "occupancy charge". Check surrounding hotels, a couple blocks away, before booking this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

-Location is absolutely terrible. Parking lot next door to hotel is a city parking lot, $5 a day. I really hope nothing happens to my car. :/ there was trash strewn about the side walk as you exit the lot by car. (As if someone turned a dumpster upside down).
-The hotel does not have breakfast ( or any breakfast items, fruit, bagels etc).
-the elevator felt as if there was an earthquake, it shakes so much. It also opens slightly prior to stopping. (At the 3 rd floor)

I will say however, though the rooms are very tiny- almost dorm like, it was clean. The furnishings appeared to be updated. No microwave / fridge in my room . (I heard a guest say there are some rooms with microwave/ fridge, but you literally have to go hunt for it).

I will not be back- based on the location and lack of on site hotel parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed a couple times now at this hotel because my employer gets a discount from them. The hotel itself is fine if you're traveling by yourself, on business: it's clean and functional. The internet connection (cable) is fast. But the surrounding area is blighted. I got mugged a block away (two guys grabbed me and said they would shoot me if I didn't give them my money and phone). This was at all of 8pm, but by then all the surrounding businesses were boarded up and few people were on the street. I looked at one of those crime-mapping websites, and it showed 3-4 other muggings in the previous week in the same immediate vicinity. There's really nothing in the area itself; I guess the best thing is that BART is a block away (but note that I was mugged all of a block away). The middle eastern restaurant next door seems to have closed. I know it's not fair to judge the hotel itself on what happens outside its control, but the location is what it is. Honestly, I just won't stay here again because of the area. On the plus side, there is a good coffee shop just down the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a great hotel. Rooms are a little small and you don't get breakfast, but it is newly remodeled, very safe, and clean. It is hard to get sunlight because of the other tall buildings. Front desk staff was courteous.

Very good location and close to all kinds of cool bars and the Fox Theatre.

Room Tip: Park your car in the garage across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland

Address: 371 13th St, Between Franklin & Webster, Oakland, CA 94612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is within walking distance to the Oakland Convention Center, BART Station, 8 miles from the Oracle Arena & Oakland Coliseum, City Hall, Federal Building, Alameda County Court House. 8 miles from Oakland International Airport (Take Bart from Airport to Hotel). Take Bart from Hotel to San Francisco.We have added parking, overnight rate $15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland Hotel Oakland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.