We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a half day of fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Zoo

Oakland Zoo
9777 Golf Links Road off Interstate 580, Oakland, CA 94605
510- 632-9525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 100-acre zoo that contains 58 exhibits of more than 400 native and exotic animals from around the world, which are represented by 100 different species.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for a half day of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Smaller than STL and Chicago zoos which is wjat I am used to, but staff is friendliest I have seen and so helpful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    97
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant View
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice zoo. Easy walk for small children. Cool day so animals were out. Had to pay extra for kiddie rides but take the train ride.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best zoo in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I loved it all, very friendly staff, give you lots of information, take their time to talk to you, and tell you all you want to know about the zoo and its residents, good food, and a picnic area if you bring your own. i will go here again and again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very inviting atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love to go to zoos. We are an mature *(o k, actually an older couple in our 60's). We go to Zoo without any children, and enjoy our visits.

Love the Oakland Zoo because of the location, the layout of the open spaces and the great variety of animals there.

The staff is really nice. There is good food varieties available and you can just enjoy the day taking your time thru the park.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is great to be a member, you can go visit for just a couple of hours. Explore a different area each time. Never tire the little ones too much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakland Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oakland Zoo to your Saves list
;