We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A toddlers dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Fairyland

Children's Fairyland
699 Bellevue Avenue, Oakland, CA 94610
(510) 452-2259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Attractions in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Amusement & theme parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A toddlers dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kids love this place and adults have great memories of when they went there. For the best value get a membership and bring a lunch with you on the weekends. I just send my husband off to fairyland and they have fun together for hours. The running encourages the much needed naps!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    48
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“I wish we took our kids when they were younger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We came here because of a groupon. I knew it was mean for younger kids, our younger son had fun but our older son didn't enjoy it as much. Which is why I wish we had taken them here when they wereboth a little younger.
The attractions are old, paint peeling off. Some just look really old and rickety. But you know what, the kids don't notice that kind of stuff, we do! So if we're excited and we have fun, guess what? They will too! And if you're taking them here, it probably means you're a n awesome parent looking for good family fun! Before visiting here, make sure you read tons of fairy tale stories and nursery rhymes, it'll make this world so muchmore alive for them. Enjoy :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming Old School Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went here as a child. It is a rare type of attraction for this century's children, in that it is not a commercial venture, and you can feel that aspect throughout your visit. Our friend's rambunctious 6 year old had a blast. His favorites included the magic show, dragon slide and Alice in Wonderland maze. It was spiffed up a few years ago, but didn't have its magic taken away along with its tarnish. Puppet shows are unique and worth watching. I love the WPA-ish structures and gentle approach to childhood taken here. Lovely.

Best for younger kids; adults not allowed in without kids.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Little Patch of Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's for kids of all ages. A great respite from work-day stress. Surrounded by lush gardens and the beautiful Lake Merritt smack in the middle of town, just blocks from the office. Peaceful and serene: Geese a-swimming (and begging to be fed), a petting zoo and all sorts of wonders for the young and the young-at heart.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place for Small Children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our children loved Fairyland when they were small. The puppet shows are fun and the small amusement rides suitable for small fry. This is a bit of a time travel back to simpler and kinder times. Enjoy yourself.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Fairyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.