We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for tiny tots!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Fairyland

Children's Fairyland
699 Bellevue Avenue, Oakland, CA 94610
(510) 452-2259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 94 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect for tiny tots!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I first brought my son here when he was about 8 months old, to attend a birthday party. Despite his young age, he had a great time! There is a petting zoo, a lady who tells stories, a train, small rides and various fairy-tale themed stations. Children under 1 year are free but it's only a $6 admission which covers all the rides. My son is now 17 months old so we are definitely due for another visit soon! Highly recommended, especially for those aged 2 to 5, but I'm sure older children would enjoy as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    61
    7
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakland, CA
2 reviews
“timeless enchantment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My granddaughter has loved coming here since she was 2 years old. She is now 7. She loves the characters and nursery rhymes and fairy tales and puppet shows. The pirate ship and slides are wonderful climb on and encourage fantasy play. The Merry-go-round and Jolly Trolly are always fun to ride. The gardens and landscaping have been refurbished and look beautiful. It is a relaxing and fun place to spend an afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Long in the tooth, but still a favorite with the under 8 or 9 crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Parking is a hassle, but the place is an easy 2-3 hours of happy kids running around. The puppet show is the best attraction.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memorybau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun outing for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wish they have this in SoCal. The admission price is right for a kid's outing, MUCH better value than Disneyland. Some of the rides and attractions are dated, but kids do not care. My kid likes the artificial grass turf for sliding down, enjoyed the puppet show, and climbing around. The animals are a little sad though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Loved it as a kid...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I loved this place as a kid but was a little surprised that it is still around when I was invited to a birthday party. What I saw was 30 children having as much fun that day as I had years ago. It brought back so many memories. So worth the price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Fairyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.