We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alas, you have to young child to be admitted.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Fairyland

Children's Fairyland
699 Bellevue Avenue, Oakland, CA 94610
(510) 452-2259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Alas, you have to young child to be admitted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I will have to drag my 7 yro there before he gets to old, and no longer will go. It's so beautiful and fun. It was the inspiration for Walt Disney and Disney Land. I wish the whole world looked like this.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    45
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“kids loved it, great price, fun visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a great time at fairyland. The kids (6.5 and 4.5) loved this place. Great price to get in too. We purchased the key and the not all the boxes were working but we were told that ahead of time, which was nice. The kids had fun running around trying out the key. We stayed for the storytime and the kids had a lot of fun. As we were leaving around 2pm, the place was a bit busy. I would suggest getting there at 10 or 11, it was less crowded and the kids didn't have to wait to do any of the activities. It's $5 to park on the weekend, bring cash..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It was entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My 3-year-old was able to ride a merry-go-round and Ferris wheel all by herself. She had fun climbing like a pirate, sliding down the hill, and a variety of other fun stuff. The story boxes were not all working due to rain, but she was on the look-out to use her magic key. I would recommend as a fun 3-4 hour place to romp.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than Disneyland, really”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is wildly low tech! This is the inspiration for Disneyland; it lets kids explore without lines. there is a Pirate ship that lets the kids run around with their own imaginations; a puppet show ....wierd little gnomes just around .... you must have a child to enter. Pay the extra $2 for the key which for reasons known only to children is the best of the best.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Oldie but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Look, the place is OLD. But my kids (6, 4 & 3) loved it and are already asking when they can go back. It's not a huge park, either, so you can do it in half a day. And the admission price is low. So as long as the kids enjoy it . . . I mean, I wouldn't make some big drive for it (we live about 40 minutes away), it's not worth that, but for the price, it's not bad. Limited food options, though, so I wouldn't recommend planning to eat there.

Also note there are a number of rides that kids can go on but adults CANNOT. So be sure your kids are able and willing to ride alone in some cases.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Fairyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Children's Fairyland to your Saves list