We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Fairyland

Children's Fairyland
699 Bellevue Avenue, Oakland, CA 94610
(510) 452-2259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 116 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Oldie but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Look, the place is OLD. But my kids (6, 4 & 3) loved it and are already asking when they can go back. It's not a huge park, either, so you can do it in half a day. And the admission price is low. So as long as the kids enjoy it . . . I mean, I wouldn't make some big drive for it (we live about 40 minutes away), it's not worth that, but for the price, it's not bad. Limited food options, though, so I wouldn't recommend planning to eat there.

Also note there are a number of rides that kids can go on but adults CANNOT. So be sure your kids are able and willing to ride alone in some cases.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“old and dingy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I remember coming here when I was a kid...and little has changed. It needs new paint, and they need to clean up some of the clutter. It has potential, but it does not live up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I go here at least 3 times a year, not that I want to but because my daurghter elem school seems to not no where else to go in oakland

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Its Darling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its darling. My kids are 2 and 5 and love it. Much older then 5 would not be so into it. For the price we paid it entertained my kids in Oakland for a couple hours. Its not an all day thing but awesome for a bit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Clean affordable fun for little ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great for young familes (7 or under). Good for 3-4 hours at most, not too crowded, parking not too difficult if you arrive before 11am and overall a good experience. Think of it as a small theme park for little kids and only little kids. Ok to bring your own food and plenty of seating areas. You can also buy these little plastic keys to turn these story boxes. Good treat for the kids.

The place is not very big but that's good with small kids.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Fairyland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.