We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burma Superstar

Burma Superstar
4721 Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, CA 94609
510 652-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,067 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Special food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There was a brief wait at 6 on a Sunday, but I could see a huge crowd waiting by 7. The food was interesting, and well prepared. The service is a bit slow, but there is always a frantic rush in this restaurant ( and the other locations). MY other Burmese restaurant Nan Yang in rockridge is a bit blander in taste and ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Everyone I bring her loves this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Taste can be so personal. So, when friends come from out of town and I bring them here and am always pleasantly surprised that people rave about it and remember it long afterwards.

I love the vegetable curry and the green tea salad which can be prepared vegan (without the dried shrimp). I never tire of this place.

If you come at the peak dinner hours, be prepared to wait. Also it is extremely crowded and noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a great first meal in the Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I and two grown sons ate here last night to find exquisitively constructed dishes with fresh and flavorful ingredients. The tea leaf salad was wonderful, the chili lamb superb, as was the shrimp curry. The cuisine is interesting and the atmosphere wonderful. Our eldest son lives in Oakland and it is his favorite restaurant. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“More flavors than we had time to taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first time here -and our first time at any Burmese restaurant- and it will not be our last. WE LOVED IT!!

The restaurant is in Temescal, an Oakland, CA neighborhood we lived in more than 20 years ago and is now definitely on the way up.

The three of us shared three dishes and it was plenty of food:
1) Mango salad (that -surprise- was delightfully "explained" and mixed at our table)
2) Chicken and shrimp (done clay pot style to perfection)
3) Salmon (so light and tasty it almost floated off the plate)

The wine list is short but excellent.

Wow!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What more could one want.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If anything, better than their SF location. Great food, great services, great prices. Their samusa soup will knock your sox off!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burma Superstar also viewed

 

Been to Burma Superstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burma Superstar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.