We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You like beer and snacks? Who doesn't?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trappist

The Trappist
460 8th St, Oakland, CA 94607-3935
510-238-8900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,111 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Belgian, Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Alameda, California
2 reviews
“You like beer and snacks? Who doesn't?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For the past 5 years, I have been indulging my passion in consuming delicious craft beer. If there are tasty snacks to boot, well then that it just a little slice of heaven isn't it. The Trappist has both of these things contained in the perfect environment to kick back and enjoy some Belgian brew on a cold East Bay night. Watch your budget though things are a bit pricey. Not too bad, but not the cheapest either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PORT ALLEGANY
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Old World Beers and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You may choose either of two doors to enter Trappist, one to the front bar, the other to the back bar - one hopping and loud, the other cozy and conversational. We opted for the latter, but after a few beers, I can't remember which it was. No matter, it will be readily apparent. We entered an old world space of brick and wood, low lit. An excellent selection of beers here, carefully tapped into a baffling assortment of pint and stemmed glasses that inspires me to further investigation. The menu offers almonds, olives, cheeses and chocuterie, salads and sandwiches. We chose four cheeses with prosciutto and salami, which were accompanied by baguettes, almonds, and apple slices. It was easy to imagine being in Brussels or Bruges - a convivial background for a good long talk.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Something for every beer lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Popped in fairly late night on the recommendation of a local. Atmosphere: dark, warm & cozy. Great beer Menu including a wide variety of belgians but also many unique local brews to choose from. They like to serve the beer they like to drink themselves. The staff answered all my questions and were quite helpful. The crowd was a bit hipsterish, but friendly enough. I would like to have gone deeper into the beer list, but time was short and it was late. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem for beer lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had lunch here last Saturday. Great little place ! Great selection of beer on tap, stouts, sours, belgian ales, etc. We had lunch, too and the food was surprisingly good "foodie" quality. Food menu is small, but the bacon/mushroom and reuben sandwiches were outstanding. The persimmon salad was awesome, too. We ate on the back patio, nice and quiet. Highly recommended !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome if you like this kind of beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My objective view of this place is that if you love variety in beers, you need to visit this place. For a guy who just likes a good pilsner, it might not be for you. A good crowd, great beer. Definitely worth a visit in downtown Oakland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trappist also viewed

 

Been to The Trappist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trappist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.