We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must-visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Trappist

The Trappist
460 8th St, Oakland, CA 94607-3935
510-238-8900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,065 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Belgian, Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“a must-visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing beer selection. Knowledgable down-to-earth bartenders. Well cared-for decor. They specialize in Belgian & Scandanavian beer, but also have a well-curated selection of beers from other locales (Italy, New Zeland, Japan). They care about their beer and believe in making the very best available.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    22
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best selection of beer in the Bay Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

With Beer Revolution, Pacific Coast Brewery, and the Trappist, one could probably consider Jack London/ Old Oakland to be a beer drinkers Oasis.
The Trappist is a great place to have a pint in a relaxed, chill atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an exception craft beer bar. Firstly, it's got a really cool vibe and well decorated in terms of beer joints. I'm going to cut right to the chase, it's hard to find craft beer better than this in America. They had a great, diverse tap list while I was there. I think there was maybe only about 20 beers on tap, but their bottle list is very extensive and has hard-to-pass up options. I came here on New Years with my girlfriend, my brother, and his girlfriend. I started off with a Barrel Aged Old Rasputin Imperial Stout...damn this stuff is good, a lot better than the already awesome standard version. While drinking that I had a chance to look at the bottle list and I never turned back. I ended up ordering beers from De Molen all night long. They weren't cheap at $12-$14 a 12-ounce, but these are exception, rare beers than are not available where I live in Florida. Everybody else enjoyed the fine draft selections all night. The staff was very attentive and extremely knowledgable. Me and my girlfriend split their Ruben sandwich and we weren't impressed with that to be honest. We ended up sharing the olives appetizer and the pickled veggies...The olives were fantastic, I forgot what the larger ones were called but they were high quality and the best olives I've had. The pickled veggies were really good too but I will admit that a few of the peppers were hotter than I would like while trying to enjoy expensive beer. Overall, this place is awesome...It's not the cheapest place to drink...but "When in Rome"...you can't ignore this place if you love great beer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ran out of beer, really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I can't believe they ran out two different kinds of beer the night we were there. Staff was very nice, the beer is normally priced overall okay experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Group of 12+ and great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Went with a big group of friends and were welcomed warmly.

The beer selection was awesome and had plenty of choices.

They were very helpful with all our random request including plain bread for the ladies.

Would come back any day of the week for a beer.

The menu was not the most appealing but everything I tried on it was awesome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trappist also viewed

 

Been to The Trappist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trappist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.