We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commis

Commis
3859 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611
(510) 653-3902
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Commis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,067 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Vista
Transit: Nearest Bart Station: Macarthur Taxis are often available outside the station for a quick ride to our restaurant.
Description: Commis restaurant serves a cuisine driven by modern and classic culinary traditions and is composed of ingredients that are grown, harvested, and foraged from the land that surrounds us. We offer a nightly coursed menu. ***If you or your dining companions have any food allergies, please note them when completing your reservation. Allergies will be accommodated with a spontaneous vegetarian preparation. Thank you for helping us best serve your party. THE CHEF'S COUNTER SEATING OFFERS A FRONT ROW VIEW OF OUR OPEN KITCHEN AND AVAILABILITY FOR THE COUNTER IS MANAGED DIRECTLY BY THE RESTAURANT.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Sometimes a restaurant gets it Just right. Commis does just that. The minimalist decor is not too dark, not too precious. The service not inattentative, not overly friendly. The Prix fixe menu not too much, not too little. The food, perfection.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Commis is an intimate, intriguing place for a memorable gastronomic experience! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Commis is a small, comfortable, INTRIGUING, high-end restaurant, offering scrumptious gourmet dishes and wonderful services. 
- Why intriguing? It has NO RESTAURANT NAME on its door, ONLY a street number! 

Our 2 grown children treated us royally at this wonderful little bistro for dinner for my birthday! And what a treat it was, indeed! 
Our friendly host took us to our tastefully setup table, on it there was an envelop with my name and a BD CARD signed by the Chef and rest of the staff! A very nice and warm touch! The small menu is classily printed. We all had the Pre Fixe dinner ($75, 7courses) with Wine pairing ($45), a reasonable price for a high end establishment. Everything had an artistic, appetizing presentation, and were all super-tasty! Although I was not able to pronouce the names of various courses and their accompaning wines, our knowlegeable and friendly waiter did patiently and clearly tell us what we were eating and drinking and what their unique characteristics were! 

What a gastronomical treat and learning experience we had this evening! The service all evening was attentive and very pleasant!  By the way, the portion of each course was small, BUT we all left the restaurant with a comfortably full and happily satisfied feeling.

This famous (albeit well "hidden"), small restaurant has only a few tables, plus a very nice, unique Chef's counter, where one can closely observe chefs at work. It's necessary to make reservations weeks in advance, especially for a space at the Chef's Counter to see the chefs perform! 
- Oh yes, be sure to remember its "Street Number" before getting there!

Peterskis, July 2012

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Spoil yourself a little...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had a prix fix dinner here accompanied with a wine pairing for my meal. As the portions came out, I thought I would leave this place hungry, but I was pleasantly proven wrong.

Commis is a discrete little restaurant hiding behind a very pedestrian unmarked entryway. I think it's a pretty bold and somewhat pretentious thing to hide the restaurant away, conveying that the customers will essentially "come to them." But alas, their pretensions aren't unwarranted. The meal presentation was beautiful, the flavors were complex and fantastic, the pairings were perfection, and I walked away full, somewhat drunk, and very pleased. You definitely get the bang for your buck, but expect to pay for the experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bay Area Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Commis is a bay area gem where Chez Panisse meets Noma in an intimate setting. Try to get a seat at the Chef’s Counter, which is available only by phone reservation. It gives a unique opportunity to see those chefs at work - cooking and assembling each course with great care and precision. It also gives a glimpse into what comes next.

Everything is perfectly executed here. The menu is absolutely divine with every course in perfect harmony and balance with beauty and elegance. We love the emphasis on fresh vegetables. We had some of the best tasting vegetables here – asparagus that were carefully salted with dried herring roe, peas and avocado in this wonderful sauce, and perfectly grilled shallots with delicious, rich, and foamy broth. Other courses included heavenly oyster, a dish with egg yolk that took us back to the time when we dined at Noma, lamb with faro cereal and mushrooms that was just divine, and a perfect dessert. The wine pairing is a must. This is probably one of our very favorite wine pairings we tried anywhere. However, what makes this place really special is the amazing service – attentive, thoughtful, and considerate. This is probably one of the best meals we had in the US!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“My taste buds thought they'd died and gone to heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My kids brought us here to celebrate our 40th anniversary. What a fabulous treat. The food was innovative. Each course was a delight to the eye and then to the taste buds. The service was formal but not pretentious, it was just all about the food. The first course, pacific oyster, sunchoke and green anise in sea foam was particularly memorable. It was the essence of the ocean. A remarkable restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commis also viewed

 

Been to Commis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.