We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, if a little precious about coffee and drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marzano on Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marzano on Park
4214 Park Boulevard, Oakland, CA 94602
(510) 531 4500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 1,070 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Glenfield Avenue
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great food, if a little precious about coffee and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Chef's choice was roast sucking pig this night, Birthday celebration. so drinks and wine both. Dinner and accounterments were wonderful and good value.Wine reasonably priced and the house choie a good one.Mixed drinks were "artisan", overpriced and not very good. (Over the past 50+ years, we all have had enough old fashioneds and sours to know a good one when we taste it.)
Also, drinks came staggered-- the prepraindial glass of sparkling wine came well after two other drinks and we all had to wait to toast until the final one arrived.
Americano we ordered too about 10--15 minutes to arrive, well after the desserts. Waitress explained that because the barista had to make espresso and then dilute to Americano, it was different (and far more costly) than simply ordering a regular.coffee, which they do onot offer anyway.
They serve a weekend brunch anf we would reutrn for that, order the house wine, and skip the drinks.
Do appreicate tha they will sefve no drinks without a food order, so , although noisy, the atmosphere is festive, not a bar scene.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“From Bad to Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This restaurant is two blocks from our son's home. Visiting him and his family, the six of us went out to dinner. Everyone else ordered the Tuesday night special, spaghetti and meatballs. I ordered the pork shoulder. A bit of a wait, but the roasted brussil sprout starters made the wait quite pleasant When the entres finally arrived, i was served a breaded pork shop. Told the waitress, she apologized, took it away, saying my shoulder would be there soon. After ten minutes another waitress returned with a breaded pork chop. I explained it looked like the first one I had returned, she apologized and said my shoulder would be there soon. It arrived after everyone else had finished. It was superb! Also, the gratuity was already on the check, and I made the mistake of adding a tip. Called the restaurant after getting home, and they made the correction. Bottom line, screwed up service, excellent food, and i will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great service, food not as great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our party of 10 was celebrating a birthday - staff promptly brought our beverages, but there was a long wait for our order to be taken. Bruschetta was bizarre - cold thick white Italian bread with a smear of cheese topped by lovely fresh figs, or chopped tomatoes (not particularly garlicky or basil-y). Pizzas were not warm when they arrived, though the ingredients were good combinations - meatball (daily special) and spicy sausage. Many menu items included the word "spicy" and several that didn't were spicy, including the bread sticks. This didn't work for all of us. Desserts were uniformly fabulous: chocolate bodino (hazelnuts and chocolate); a fresh apple huckleberry crisp with ice cream, my choco-vanilla Strauss creamery swirl, and the panna cotta (offered to the birthday celebrant) were shared and much enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food from a well-tended brick oven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great pizzas from the brick oven as well as other italian food from the oven. Good bar with inventive satisfying drinks.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food, great service. Incredibly good chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have visited this restaurant several times, and each dining experience has been very satisfying. Their chicken all'arrabiata was featured in Food & Wine magazine as one of the best chicken dishes in the U.S., and it is really fantastic. Though there are a lot of good things on the menu, I order the chicken every time. This restaurant knows how to make a dish quite spicy, but without overwhelming the other delicious favors in a dish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marzano on Park also viewed

 

Been to Marzano on Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marzano on Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.