We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Latin - loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocanova

Bocanova
55 Webster Street, Jack London Square, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 444-1233‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bocanova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 996 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero W
Berkeley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fab Latin - loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The crab deviled eggs alone make this a worthwhile destination. First try one of the fresh inventive cocktails . If you like heat go for the Cesear which is infused with jalapeño. The Hemingway daquari was so fresh it bore little resemblance to the dessert like concoctions you get elsewhere. Other highlights were the cerviche served with plantain chips and the pork with cracklings. Don't miss the bread pudding with Mexican chocolate ice cream. We will definitely visit again to enjoy the outdoor patio when it warms up. So glad we went!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    22
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were just wandering around Jack London Square and didn't want a huge lunch. Bocanova was a perfect choice. The lunch choices were quite interesting and, more importantly, delicious. I didn't recognize some of the ingredients but everything worked perfectly. The staff was very attentive without being obnoxious. We would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and really good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Oakland's Restaurant Week gave us a chance to try a lot of different food here. Mostly great and nothing regrettable!

First, warm and friendly from the front door; it has in-kitchen style seating, too, which looks a little in the way but probably a lot of fun if the place is rocking.

We were early, so no rocking; secured a good booth without a reservation at 5:45 pm on a Thursday (it got a lot busier after about 7:00). Very pretty place. We shared a bay scallop ceviche (the light but creamy sauce has a definite habanero bite), marinated Peruvian olives (very tart); comfort-food quinoa salad; a beautifully prepared hangar steak and perfect petrale sole (second best thing we had). A potato and mushroom side dish -- I agree the potatoes are spectacular, but they didn't seem to match with the mushrooms. Each was good, just a strange combo -- they didn't do anything for each other, and would've been better as two sides. The panko-breaded and lightly fried cauliflower in remoulade was the BEST thing on the plates tonight! Dessert was a decent enough banana cake with a buttercream dollop . . . good enough.

The server was fun to talk to, about cooking and wine and all things food. Reasonably priced, too. We don't make it up to Oakland too often, but this would be a place to return to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved my Veggies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was exhausted after a long air flight, but excited to be with friends. This was one of the best dinners I have had in a long time. Do Not Miss the Pear Salad. Main courses were half chicken and scallops, and hard to believe that the vegetables were awesome. We shared Squash and Brussel Sprouts. I crave them right now.
Caveat: Difficult to hear when the room fills.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best darn potatoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place rocks. Get the potatoes and brussels sprouts. I like sitting out on the patio when it is warm enough. Great for dinner, but don't forget about brunch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocanova also viewed

 

Been to Bocanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.