We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying waterfront dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bocanova

Bocanova
55 Webster Street, Oakland, CA 94607
(510) 444-1233‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bocanova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,066 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: South American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero W
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfying waterfront dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What Bocanova most has going for it is location. They've got a great outdoor space with a view of the estuary. There's generally good people watching here. Plus a full bar. The cocktails are pretty good, decent beer on tap. Haven't had much wine here, so I can't speak to that. The food is good. Not memorable, but good. I find it slightly over priced for what it is, but not terribly so. But really, this is where I go when it's beautiful outside and I want to soak in the sun with a drink in my hand.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SF, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Architecturally interesting atmosphere, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a mid-week lunch here. Located on Jack London Square, a tourist location, we were pleasantly surprised by the interesting physical plant site, the quality of the latin food/presentation and the reasonable prices. The Business Lunch (having done away with the sexist monicker: "Businessman's Lunch") was an incredible deal at $ 18 pp. The 3-course presentation provided ample portions, including interesting salads, squash soup, a well-prepared, high-end cut of beef and (over-salted) grilled scallops with a cream saffron sauce. The figurative topping on the cake was a passion fruit flan/creme brulee. The one of us who ordered enchiladas off the menu was similarly impressed. We've been looking for an excuse to return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unusual pairings executed perfectly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This jack London square restaurant has it all: easy parking, beautiful unique decor, a really unique and interesting menu, great service and fair prices. The four of us shared the shishito peppers that were salty and hot, the chipotle sweat potato gratin, pork tamale, seared sea scallops, goat stew, marinated mushrooms, roasted pear dessert, and a bottle of Pinot Noir. Every plate left the table empty! Only downside, a bit noisy so sit on outside heated deck on the waterfront if you can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This Place Never Fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've been to Bocanova three times in the last month and have had an overall excellent experience each time. The staff are friendly and informative. The food is unique and very tasty. A group of Central and South American chefs and cooks prepare their local cuisine with fresh, local incredients. The owners are on sight, the man behind the bar and the woman who checks in with you while you are dining. You can see pride of ownership all over this place. The decore has old fashioned mercury lights that give a warm glow to the entire restaurant. I have the salted peppers for an appetizer. I've tried many dishes in my three visits. None were less than great. Right at Jack London Square with the cool breezes from the Alameda estuary, dining outside is fun, but bring a jacket. With the rains, stay indoor and enjoy a feast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great brunch - fresh, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although Jack London Square itself was a bit disappointing, this restaurant was a shining star. We went for brunch and the food was fresh and very tasty. The French Toast, ordered for a toddler, was delicious and everyone was hoping she wouldn't finish it so we could get another bite. The BLT was not your ordinary BLT - big in size, and big in flavor. The plain ole eggs, bacon, and toast were also out of the ordinary and delicious. If you are in the area I'd definitely stop in.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocanova also viewed

 
Oakland, CA
 

Been to Bocanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;