We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent southern food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pican

Pican
2295 Broadway Street, Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 834-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pican is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,004 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grand Avenue
Transit: 19th Street BART, Oakland
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent southern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

As a friend described it, Pican is "fancy southern food." The food, service and the atmosphere are very good. A very classy place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    38
    11
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic southern meets organic California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Very classy and welcoming restaurant on Broadway! The staff go the extra mile when it comes to service. They know the menu and specials are are very willing to accommodate nutritional preferences and will allow substitutions. If you love bourbon,southern comfort foods and pecans this is a special event choice for y'all! My husband had a Classic mint julio like he was at the Kentucky derby. I had the peach squeeze-yum! My husband chose the classic fried chicken-served with delicious mac n cheese. Had collards as a side which were done to perfection. I had the Mt Lassen trout on Brussels and purple cauliflower /lovely. The atmosphere is elegant and the music inviting. Highly recommend this gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Elegant and Welcoming Southern Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a special place. Like a bit of Virginia, Louisiana and a bit of Charleston. Excellent food, happy warm staff , innovative drinks. No southern restaraunt in San Francisco can touch it !! Another sign of the East Bay rising.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, wonderful birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely place that completely evokes the warmth and hospitality of the South, but with a bit of California twist to it. The staff are so charming and knowledgeable and clearly take pride in their establishment, services, and your pleasure that you are pretty much guaranteed an excellent experience. The Pican Punch was delicious and potent but it was pretty hard to select a drink from their choices. Best advice: talk to the bartender and wait-staff--they'll figure out the best fit for you and they will check back to make sure you're satisfied.

Our meals were delicious, filling and share-able--I had to try the mac and cheese even though the lamb was absolutely scrumptious. And who would have thought a raw collard greens salad would be so very tasty? Indulge yourself and a few good friends; you'll all enjoy it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fell in love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went there during Fat Tuesday without any reservation, but still they managed to get a table for seven of us in a nice spot so we can talk and eat. The food was awesome! They have lots of and lots of choices even with gluten free choices. I thought I couldn't have any dessert since I was very full, but I cannot resist the dessert, it was soooo yummy. I definitely fell in love with this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pican also viewed

 

Been to Pican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.