We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fried chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pican

Pican
2295 Broadway Street, Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 834-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pican is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,119 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grand Avenue
Transit: 19th Street BART, Oakland
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent fried chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We returned after a 2 yr absence and were happy to find the food under new ExecChef Uong as good or better than ever. The fried chicken has come up a notch and we now consider it superior to Casa Orinda/Orinda. Both mac'n'cheeses are very good, but let them sit so the thin white sauce underneath has a chance to thicken up. Cornbread is still very good although not as tall/tender as it used to be.

Jambalaya had wonderful flavor but was more risotto like, without andouille or tomatoes. Spouse didn't care for the chicken wings, which are traditional but the whole flabby-skin thing was a turnoff. Desserts were an attempt to update classics that didn't quite work, too sweet and heavy. Coffee was good.

Pican's biggest flaw is the service. The owner and mgr are both attentive but the waiters run around without really looking at the tables as they pass. Once you catch their eye they're attentive, but you shouldn't need to do that all evening. Our first waiter failed to tell us of the specials, only indicating the tasting menu, which was a huge mistake. There was a dish on special that night we would have ordered had we known about it, but we didn't see the signboard until we were leaving (it wasn't put out right away; we entered just as they opened). Still, Pican is consistently very good to excellent, and you don't feel as if you've eaten a ton of grease and salt as you would at most soul food places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went here to celebrate a birthday of a couple of friends. The service was great. Food and drinks were good. We had fried chicken, catfish, jambalaya, and pork chops between all of us and everyone was happy with their choices. Ambiance is very cozy. Overall I recommend this place and have been many times prior to this visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fresh Southern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I take my East Bay clients to Pican because the food and atmosphere are great. Today we had greens, fried green tomatoes, banana pudding and their burger special. My client enjoyed their lunch and the noise level is low so you can have a discussion over a nice meal. The restaurant offers outdoor seating and a nice bar. Service is not consistent but the flavors make up for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Took a friend here for her 50th birthday. They were packed. We had reservations. It was a very long wait for drinks. It was an even longer wait for the food. They appeared under-staffed. I asked for a substitute side to my meal and was refused. At these prices I don't think it's asking too much to sub potatoes. I found the food to be nothing special. There were five of us, so this was not just my opinion. I would not return here, and would not recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exotic Southern delights in Oakland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beginning with Smoked Berkshire Pork Belly and Green Fried Tomatoes, our group delighted in the balanced flavors that the menu offered. Of all the dishes we tried, which included Low and Slow Barbecued Pork Ribs, Prather Ranch Bershire Pork Chop,Nola Jambalaya Risotto, and Smoked Brisket Meatloaf, the favorite at the table was the Pork Ribs, although each was delicious. Although it has a limited menu, everyone will find a dish that will satisfy and delight each customer. Our waiter, Michael, was also very knowledgeable regarding the appropriate wine that would complement each dish. All items are a la carte so be prepared to spend some money and don't rush through your meal. Savor every morsel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pican also viewed

 

Been to Pican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.