We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb from Start to Finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ozumo - Oakland

Ozumo - Oakland
2251 Broadway Avenue, Oakland, CA 94612
5102869866
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ozumo - Oakland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,069 restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Grand Avenue
Transit: 4 Blocks from 19th Street Bart Station.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb from Start to Finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We selected this restaurant based on the following: other reviews, location, menu and time. From the moment we walked in our experience exceeded our expectations. The greeter quickly found our reservation - even though we were early, she gave us two options - be seated immediately or go tot he bar and check out the happy hour. We opted for the bar. Mike, the bartender, was very friendly, open to suggesting (we asked) and mixed our drinks. We ordered two happy hour food items - wonderful flavors and tastes sensations.
We then moved to dinner (nice touch - Mike said he could transfer our tab to the dining area). We ordered several combination rolls, two different saki samplers, and a yummy flowerless chocolate with green tea ice cream. Several times during the dining experience Vincent, the manager, stopped by to check on us.
Is this restaurant in our back year? No - we took BART on a 45 minute ride to get there. Will be go back? Absolutely!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    10
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“And I am not a sushi fan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am not a fan of raw fish, and Joey doesn't eat fish at all! But my cousins chose the place for their wedding celebration, and we had a wonderful meal and a great time. The decor was contemporary and beautiful. There were many different areas to choose from - the bar when first you enter, a room with many tables to the right, and behind the bar area a large dance floor area in front of the open, sushi kitchen area. I don't know the names of the various dishes as we had them chosen for us, but the food was good!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“After a long search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After walking around the blocks of our hotel looking for an Thai restaurant that did not use MSG we asked advice from a group at a small bar "where can we find a place that does not use MSG in Oakland?". We were directed to Ozumo (Sushi/fusion/Japanese) theme Restaurant.
It was wonderful! Fresh, nice atmosphere, good wait staff and inovative dishes. We happen to get there during happy hour, which made the price reasonable. Every dish was good! I find when traveling happy hours can be a good sampling of the restaurants menu without breaking the bank.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good Tastes. Small Portions. Average Value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a dinner visit here on work travel. This is a higher-end restaurant with unique food choices. The food presentation was incredible! The atmosphere was great. The flavors were very good. However, as with most high end restaurants, the prices were on the higher end and I left the restaurant still hungry. Eat here for reasons other than to get full. I would return, but not often.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great japanese inspired cuisine with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ozumo is at the epi-center of Oakland's new Uptown restaurant and nightlife district and is also one of the three top restaurants in the area. My Daughter and I dined here and had a really great experience. We first had drinks in the bar/lounge followed by dinner in the dining room. Service throughout was exceptional and we really appreciated the friendliness, information, and recommendations from Jessica in the dining room. Ozumo is a large place with several seating areas and I believe all sections could be considered romantic. The food is Japanese inspired and there is a large selection of Sushi and fish dishes, but also much more on the menu. Our delicious entrees were the Jindori (roasted chicken with Ponzu Butter) and the Gindara (Black Cod). The Spider Roll (soft shell crab) was excellent. There is a really extensive Sake collection and the various Sake flights are interesting and informative. If one wishes to learn about Sake, this is a good place to do it. Ozumo also has a very good wine list. There is a vibrant bar scene, and the restaurant usually gets crowded on the weekend, especially First Friday when the Art Murmer takes place. That is a very festive time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozumo - Oakland also viewed

 

Been to Ozumo - Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ozumo - Oakland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.