We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice public garden with lots of different areas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Park and Garden Center

Lakeside Park and Garden Center
666 Bellevue Ave., Oakland, CA
510-238-3208
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Gardens, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the best public gardens in the state offers Japanese, Polynesian, and many other types of gardens.
oakland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice public garden with lots of different areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is easy to walk by this place and not know it is there. I would second everything Diane 640 wrote. My daughter gardens a lot and she loves this place. It is not huge like Descanso gardens in BC, but it is very well laid out and full of outdoor rooms created by the plantings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Secret Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

These gardens are tucked away in the park at Lake Merritt. I had walked by 100 times before I every ventured in. Once I did I was delighted to find interesting plants and landscapes at each turn. I would highly recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and Accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just a few steps off busy Grand Ave. past the elaborate and now-defunct fountain, Lakeside Park and Garden Center offers lunchtime solitude or a late afternoon lesiurely beauty stroll. Filled with specimen trees and lovely, varied garden collections, for plant and flower lovers, it's a must. If you are a collector, the Garden Center features iris, orchid and other sales throughout the year. For bonsai lovers, there's that too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The gardens are amazing - you wouldn't know they were there. As you wander around every corner you come on some new surprise - the banzai building, the palm tree grove, etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good for walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

garden center is very, very nice. didn´t see Fairyland though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Park and Garden Center also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Park and Garden Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Park and Garden Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lakeside Park and Garden Center to your Saves list