We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to live in this great neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Merritt

Lake Merritt
Lakeside Park, Oakland, CA 94612
510 238 7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 attractions in Oakland
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Saltwater lake in the middle of the city.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I used to live in this great neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I used to job around this lake for years. I've also taken sailing lessons here. It's got a Mediterranean feel that can't be beat in the San Francisco area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    30
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, healthy and inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The re-landscaped Lake Merritt offers a chance to stretch your legs on a flat and beautiful 3.2 miles surface while observing the wonderful water birds that congregate in this age old sanctuary.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A walk with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter, her fiance, my partner and I took a walk around the lake, enjoying the fabulous Oakland weather, and the joy of being together.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lake and bird sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sparkling waters in the middle of town with marvelous view of Oakland hills. Watch the pelicans fish for dinner ,quite dramatic. Visit the lovely gardens surrounding the lake . Or rent a small boat and go for a sail. Lovely place to spend an afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gondola ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We received a gift of a sunset, moon lit gondola ride for Christmas from our kids. What the heck, we waited for good bay area weather and headed out. Real Italian gondolas, gondoliers. We had champagne, a beautiful view of Art Deco architecture and knowledgeable tour by our singing gondolier. Was tons of fun and great restaurants near by. An urban treat

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Merritt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Merritt to your Saves list