We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like all things about this lake, but treat yourself to the gondola!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Merritt

Lake Merritt
Lakeside Park, Oakland, CA 94612
510 238 7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 54 attractions in Oakland
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Saltwater lake in the middle of the city.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I like all things about this lake, but treat yourself to the gondola!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love walking around the lake. I love the cathedral at edge of the lake. I love the botanical garden, and Fairyland. But one of my best times was the gondola ride. You have to book ahead, and as my husband's luck would have it, they were full except they just had a cancellation. So we went out at 5 in the late December dusk. We saw some beautiful birds and then we saw Lake Merritt's and surrounding beautiful lights. We learned the history of lake, and we got to hear some beautiful Italian songs. So if you want to feel like you are in Europe, but you have only one night, this is the way to go. http://www.gondolaservizio.com/lakeMerritt.htm

Lake Merritt is also near some excellent restaurants, and it's near Grand Avenue and Piedmont with more excellent restaurants! The Lake Chalet is hit or miss, but it's a fun place to eat.

Oakland is my favorite city in the Bay Area right now, and Lake Merritt and its surroundings has a lot to to do with my love for the place. I could have titled this review, "this place has gone to the birds", because there are so many birds here.

I don't live in Oakland, nor do I have any affiliation to the Gondola Service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    68
    30
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So Much To Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Oakland's crown jewel, Lake Merritt has so much to offer, on the lake, around the lake and near the lake. Don't miss walking all or part of the lake. Children's Fairyland which I've been going to since I was a toddler, many years ago, is perfectly sized for those under 10 and adults who want to share a fun time with that age group. There are wonderful restaurants of every flavor surrounding the lake. You can take a gondola ride, or rent a sail or paddle boat. You can feed the ducks, or take a peak at the mini science museum. There are historical buildings to tour on and near the lake. Don't miss the Oakland Museum, the Classic Grand Lake Theater, the art deco court house, the Cameron Stanford House, and the Louis Comfort Tiffany stained glass Mosaics at the Lake Merritt United Methodist Church (lakemerrittumc.org) - an insiders tip!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Haven't walked around the lake, just a portion of it so there aren't a lot of sights to take in. Good restaurants, but it is a walk from the Bart station. There are colorful people, but you can see a definite change in Oakland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Area To Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Lake Merritt is a great relaxing out take of Oakland. There is a nice paved trail that goes all around the lake. There are plenty on benches to sit and relax and enjoy the view.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Local and low key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a local area, with a farmers' market on week ends, good people watching, and at night the lights are quite picturesque. Fairyland is one of the all time best kid experiences; low tech (where Walt Disney got his idea of a theme park) & you must have a child with you to enter. Get the key ($2), for some reason it's is magical for kids!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Merritt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Merritt to your Saves list