We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Merritt

Lake Merritt
Lakeside Park, Oakland, CA 94612
510 238 7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 92 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saltwater lake in the middle of the city.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great place to take a nice walk in Oakland and there are lots of places that you can grab a drink near by, find one with a view of the lake and take it all in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    127
    39
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Water by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's so nice to see locals enjoy what Mother Nature puts in front of them. I was there for a crew event - and wow - these women can row! But good to see my hometown of Oakland emerge as a destination for those who are trying to make a difference. Great day, great weather, fabulous venue!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place for walking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lake Merritt is very popular with those who like to walk for exercise, but it's not really a place for family picnics.
The geese droppings are everywhere and there are not too many seats. Children's Fairyland is a fun visit for younger kids, but it's not a place you wantr to visit often.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband rented a paddle boat and it was like your in anorther world outside of oakland. I love the lake

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For some reason, I worked 2 blocks from the lake for over 10 years without ever walking the lake. Now that I've discovered the pleasure of walking around the lake, I walk around it a couple times a week during my lunch break. It is a great place to take a break from your busy day and get a little exercise.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Merritt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.