We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Merritt

Lake Merritt
Lakeside Park, Oakland, CA 94612
510 238 7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 58 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Saltwater lake in the middle of the city.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great place to take a nice walk in Oakland and there are lots of places that you can grab a drink near by, find one with a view of the lake and take it all in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    78
    31
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Water by the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's so nice to see locals enjoy what Mother Nature puts in front of them. I was there for a crew event - and wow - these women can row! But good to see my hometown of Oakland emerge as a destination for those who are trying to make a difference. Great day, great weather, fabulous venue!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for walking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lake Merritt is very popular with those who like to walk for exercise, but it's not really a place for family picnics.
The geese droppings are everywhere and there are not too many seats. Children's Fairyland is a fun visit for younger kids, but it's not a place you wantr to visit often.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my husband rented a paddle boat and it was like your in anorther world outside of oakland. I love the lake

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For some reason, I worked 2 blocks from the lake for over 10 years without ever walking the lake. Now that I've discovered the pleasure of walking around the lake, I walk around it a couple times a week during my lunch break. It is a great place to take a break from your busy day and get a little exercise.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Merritt also viewed

 

Been to Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Merritt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.