We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
2025 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94612-2303
510-893-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Activities in Oakland
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A throwback to the 1930s with its art deco architecture.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Do the Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A beautiful old time movie palace that shows you what it was like to see a film in the 20's. Do the Saturday a.m. tour if you can and you're into Art Deco or old movies. Check the schedule for Friday movie nights. Patrons often dress in the era of the film so good people watching and lots of fun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    19
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An Art Deco Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stepping into the Paramount is like stepping back in time. Over the years, I have had the pleasure of attending numerous events at this beautifully restored Art Deco movie palace. I have seen "Gone with the Wind" on the Paramount's movie screen. Listened to Max Raabe and the Palast Orchestra from the comfort of the theater's plush, velvet seats. Even had the unforgettable thrill of watching an incredible tribute performance for the tap-dancing Nicholas Brothers.

But nothing can match the experience of attending the Art Deco Ball here. Dressing up in authentic vintage clothes and dancing to Don Neely's Royal Society Jazz Orchestra while surrounded by the splendor of the Paramount's Deco interiors, is truly a one-of-a-kind experience.

For those who remember the glorious movie palaces of the past, a visit to the Paramount will be a nostalgic reminder of those halcyon days. And for the younger generation whose idea of going to the movies is going to a generic multiplex, a trip to the Paramount will provide a glimpse into a more romantic, stylish and civilized era.

Even if you can't see an event here, tours of the theater are available. So if you are in the area,
definitely try to arrange a visit.

The only drawback to the Paramount is the neighborhood, which is less than glamorous. However, there are plenty of parking lots nearby, good street lighting, and ample security.

If you have a chance to go to the Paramount — go!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

When I entered the theater, the Art Deco atmosphere was enchanting. The organ music matched the atmosphere and the news and the cartoons before the main feature brought me back to my movie experience in Istanbul during my adolescense

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went to the Paramount for the Oakland Symphony and the building is magnificent. I arrived early, and we spent 45 minutes walking through the building. The art deco is beautifully restored - the powder rooms are amazing. They do tours on Saturdays - well worth the $5 !!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, Ca.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well worth a visit. Terrific art deco interior harkening back to the 1920s. Great if you can make a performance, but worth it even if you only have time to take a tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.