We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
2025 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94612-2303
510-893-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A throwback to the 1930s with its art deco architecture.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went to the Paramount for the Oakland Symphony and the building is magnificent. I arrived early, and we spent 45 minutes walking through the building. The art deco is beautifully restored - the powder rooms are amazing. They do tours on Saturdays - well worth the $5 !!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    23
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, Ca.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well worth a visit. Terrific art deco interior harkening back to the 1920s. Great if you can make a performance, but worth it even if you only have time to take a tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just saw Leonard Cohen at the Paramount. This is such a great venue--intimate and elegant. I've seen the Oakland Orchestra and several films here as well. It's a class act.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Art Deco Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Varied shows from childrens, to symphony, to lectures, jazz, rock, blues, and movie nights for $5. Check out the calendar.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nutcracker setting is superb! Bring your camera! BART right outside so transportation not a problem!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.