We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When Movie Houses were Real Palaces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
2025 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94612-2303
510-893-2300
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 47 attractions in Oakland
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A throwback to the 1930s with its art deco architecture.
surrey, u.k.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“When Movie Houses were Real Palaces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A few years back I visisted the Oakland Paramount to see an old movie. I wanted to relive the experience of my childhood when going to the movies was a real event and the venue was as important as the film itself. This theatre is the masterpiece of San Francisco architect T.L. Pflueger in a pure art-deco style. This term is often misused to describe buildings of the early 20th c but in this case you have the real thing, quite stunning and the auditorium makes most new venues look like you are going to home movies! I understand they have guided tours at certain times, but go for a movie or a show to get the real experience. Interestingly the old Fox Theatre nearby has recently been restored so Oakland can now boast 2 gems from the golden age! My vist was before 2012,

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    15
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went on a group tour of this fabulous theater! The architecture was incredible! I'd definitely recommend going on a tour. It is well worth the history. We loved the organ playing - show. We like it so much we decided to attend a movie and see the organ show again. A great part of California history.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Paramount, Oakland's Jewel in the Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Paramount Theater was a place I attended many a film as a child. Now it stands refurbished, a tribute to the deco period in which it was born and a magnificent venue for a variety of acts. Currently the favorite for touring acts like kd lang, and Melissa Etheridge as well as showings of classics like The Wizard of Oz, the Paramount is a classic theater that can be matched up against any in the country. Even Hollywood recognized it's statute when it was selected for the premiere of "Money Ball" the Academy Award nominated film about Billy Beane's transformation of baseball in the 80s and 90s. Brava!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The theater is a wonder of art deco design and splendor. Check out the website for the tours on alternating Saturday mornings. It is the best $5 you can spend

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“KBLX concert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The singers did not have a live band. It was a disappointment.
We paid for a performance live band, back-up singers. This is what I go to a concert to hear. If I wanted to hear a sound track I would have palyed my CD's at home or in the car in surround sound.
Artists & KBLX you get a thumbs down and a get it right ticket. I will not be attending an event in the futire if this happens again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paramount Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.