We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Grazing at Bocanova” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Square

Jack London Square
Oakland, CA 94607
510 645 9292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shopping, restaurants, and Jack London's cabin.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine Grazing at Bocanova”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Dishes are served family-style, and every one we ordered was distinctive and delicious. Two of us shared three "small" plates and a dessert and were satisfied.

They pride themselves on the wine list, and even the lower-priced by-the-glass options are pricey.

On a Thursday night, the area was fairly dead, though the restaurant was full. Heinold's First and Last Chance Saloon is right nearby, historic and worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    88
    59
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taft, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not much there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The area was beautiful -- on the water, with nice hotels, but there isn't much else there. Some restaurants, but no shops or stores.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

One of my favorite places in the Bay Area. Numerous good restaurants right on the water. You can watch the sail boats come in and have a drink or a bite to eat. Couple nice hotels in the area though they are a little expensive. There is a place to rent kayaks granted that the weather permits it. Overall, its a fun place to be and there are some cool local places in the general vicinity. Kincaid's and Scott's are probably 2 of the best restaurants in the area, both are on the water and serve excellent seafood.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“They need more retail businesses and things to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You know, I used to like Jack London Square when I was a lot younger. It's right on the water and can be spectacular on a beautiful clear day, a perfect place for a nice walk and to smell the ocean air. There are some nice restaurants there (not cheap), but can be a bit sketchy there in the evening. I really miss Borders Books when it was still in business, it was a great place to browse. How about putting a Barnes and Noble there to replace orders? I like Chicken and Waffles across the street, and Yoshi's is right there as well. I really like Scott's Seafood, but can be expensive, right on the water! They need more retail businesses and things to do. An ok occasional visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs more to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The area around Jack London Square is really interesting. There are residential loft buildings, commercial fruit vendors and the massive Amtrak station (when the train runs down the middle of the street it can be a little scary!). However the Square itself just seems to have some pricey restaurants. It's beautiful to walk around with the marinas and view of the port, but I wish there were more to do. We were there three years ago and again last month and there didn't seem to be much of a change. I hope they can do more with it because it's a really pretty spot with lots of potential.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack London Square also viewed

 

Been to Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.