We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose Il Pescatore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Square

Jack London Square
Oakland, CA 94607
510 645 9292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 100 things to do in Oakland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shopping, restaurants, and Jack London's cabin.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Choose Il Pescatore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We like to go to Jack London Square especially at Christmas and during the summer months. By far the nicest restaurant there is Il Pescatore. Five Stars for food and wine and atmosphere. Great waiters!! Unfortunately, Jack London Square is not as good as it was 30 or 40 years ago. Many of the stores have closed including the B and N bookstores which we always went to when we visited the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarCun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Go during daylight hours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We thought it would be a wonderful place to visit but really there are a couple of restaurants, some high end others chick/waffles places. Don't wander off the 2 main streets and boardwalk. The others have tons of graffiti, smell like urine and have several lurkers that very much enjoy making you feel uneasy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank baxter932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunday Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

There is an open air market in this great little park on the bay and if you are like me you will enjoy the local delights that the venders produce. The scenery is beautiful, the atmosphere is fun and the food is great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiamondDan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

There is much to see and do at Jack London Square although they are losing one of the wonderful restaurants (Miss Pearls) they have plenty of other ones to enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Maybe it's better in the summer or height of tourist season. I was not impress. The resturants are overpriced. There was a lot of resturants under construction and the few shops that were there were closed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack London Square also viewed

 

Been to Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing