We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Square

Jack London Square
Oakland, CA 94607
510 645 9292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 48 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shopping, restaurants, and Jack London's cabin.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nothing to do there. Most stores are closed or don't exist. No where to park free. I liked the weather. I disliked the stores

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    89
    59
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“on it's way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is well on it's way to achieving the respect and attention it deserves. a few empty storefronts still to fill

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Old boardwalk that made for a nice evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is an old boardwalk along the bay that has docks and many restaurants to choose from. It felt safe given that you are in downtown oakland and the area was kept up pretty nice. We visited at night at didn't get any of the views.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice area of restaurants and some shops. Most restaurants in this vicinity require reservations, especially on a weekend or Friday night, however the foods are good at the ones I've been to. A wonderful Christmas tree is in the center of Jack London Square at Christmas time & is beautiful. They also have an outdoor market on some weekends that are fun to attend. Gotta love the atmosphere of being near the water too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as lively as it was.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Jack London used to be a fun and busy place to visit. There were lots of small stores with a variety of goods for sale, but they have mostly gone now. There also used to be lots of places to eat... same story. The big attraction was the Barnes and Noble, and the square that always seemed to be hosting live music. It was a favorite hang-out for my friend and I. Now we only visit when there is a specific reason....mostly a convenient meeting place and a special lunch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack London Square also viewed

 

Been to Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack London Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.