We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Regional Park District

East Bay Regional Park District
Take 80 from Richmond, Oakland, CA 94605
510-635-0135
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Attractions in Oakland
Type: Parks, Scenic Drives, Bodies of Water
Activities: Hiking, Walking, Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The official designation given to the numerous parks found in Contra Costa and Alameda counties.
livermore, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took Shady Glen then cut across to Indian Joe Trail. Love this park... have backpacked across it to Del Valle in the past. Lots of trails, lots of views, great staff and DOG friendly :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful selection of hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

the East Bay parks are gems. the selectionf hiking trails is great and the maps are clear. We often hike at Briones because one gets great views and can do a circuit. We have hiked in most of them and they are all very good--Sunol, Black Diamond, Sibley, ..the list goes on. Some have limited parking and others charge a nominal fee. In the spring these parks are green and many have beautiful wildflowers. A great resource.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sibley Volcanic Regional Preserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very good views particularly on the way up to Grizzly Peak Road.

Markings could be better. Bring water, good hiking shoes, Rocky unimproved paths in many places.

Moderately strenuous with some steep climbs.

If you don't like dogs or are afraid of them, stay away. This is off leash area. We love dogs, so we had fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is why we pay Taxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I Love all of the parks in the area, they're absolutely wonderful and beautiful. It's great to have such a convenient escape from reality!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Multiple locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This isn't really one location, but is a string of parks along the hills between the San Francisco Bay and the suburbs. The one I go to most often is Tilden because of the location. In Tilden park there are trails, a merry-go-round, a lake for swimming, steam trains, a "little farm" with animals, and a botanical garden. My favorite trail is the one to Jewel Lake because of the boardwalk though the marsh. Inspiration Trail has great views. Other parks in the park district such as Lake Temescal also have swimming and lakeside hiking. Briones has fantastic hiking as well. There are some attractions for small children, some for teens and adults -- you might want to go to the website and see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Bay Regional Park District also viewed

 

Been to East Bay Regional Park District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Regional Park District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.